WALES — Fifteen students from Oak Hill High School were chosen to attend Boys and Girls State this year.

American Legion Boys State is among the most respected and selective educational programs of government instruction for U.S. high school students. A participatory program in which students become part of the operation of local, county and state government Boys State was founded in 1935.

At Boys State, participants learn the rights, privileges and responsibilities of franchised citizens. The training is objective and centers on the structure of city, county and state governments. Operated by students elected to various offices, Boys State activities include legislative sessions, court proceedings, law-enforcement presentations, assemblies, bands, choruses and recreational programs. Dirigo Boys State was held at Thomas College in Waterville from June 17-21.

Boys State delegates were Isaac Austin, son of Erin Austin of Sabattus; Ethan Barnett, son of Jeff and Carrie Barnett of Litchfield; Gabriel Bergeron, son of Rachel Bergeron of Sabattus; Casey Dion, son of Daniel Dion of Sabattus; Austin Redmun, son of William and Stacy Redmun of Litchfield; Ethan Richard, son of Erica Richard of Litchfield; and Aaron Sparks, son of Diane Sparks of Sabattus.

American Legion Auxiliary sponsors a separate but similar program for young women called Girls State. Girls State was founded in 1937. Dirigo Girls State was held this year at Husson University in Bangor from June 17 to 22.

Girls State delegates were Catherine Daigle, daughter of Lisa and James Daigle of Litchfield; Delaina Ferrell, daughter of Jade Hildreth of Litchfield; Haley Gunn, daughter of Elizabeth Gunn of Litchfield; Jennifer Hall, daughter of Karen and Robert Hall of Sabattus; Miranda Kramer, daughter of Jason and Adriane Kramer of Sabattus; Jade Sturtevant of Litchfield, daughter of Lezley and Brian Sturtevant; Alexandrea St. Hilaire, daughter of Scot and Julie Roy-St. Hilaire of Litchfield; and Sadie Waterman, daughter of Jennifer and James Waterman of Sabattus.


Sponsors of the 15 students include: American Legion Post 181 Litchfield, American Legion Post 135 Sabattus, American Legion Auxiliary Unit 181 and American Legion Auxiliary Unit 135.

Delaina Ferrell

Catherine Daigle

Alexandrea St. Hilaire

Haley Gunn

Jennifer Hall


Miranda Kramer

Sadie Waterman

Ethan Richard

Austin Redmun

Ethan Barnett

Isaac Austin


Aaron Sparks

Gabriel Bergeror

Casey Dion

Jade Sturtevant

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.