OXFORD — Maine short track legend Kelly Moore returned to his winning ways over the weekend, wheeling his R.C. Moore Transportation Toyota to victory in the Applebee’s Super Late Model feature on Saturday at Oxford Plains Speedway. 

Moore, of Scarborough, earned his first trip to victory lane at Oxford since a NASCAR Busch North Series triumph in 1991. Moore was the track champion at Oxford back in 1984 and has earned a reputation as one of the very best.  

Moore claimed the NASCAR Busch North Series title in 1995 and is still the all-time leading race winner in series history. He spent most of Saturday’s 50-lapper fending off a challenge from Jeremy Davis, of Tamworth, New Hampshire, who settled for second. Oxford’s Dennis Spencer, Jr. filled out the podium in third.  

Dixfield’s Scott Robbins raced hard to earn a fourth-place finish, just edging out Strong’s Tracy Gordon, who was impressive charging into contention from the outside groove. Gordon, coincidentally, was the Oxford Plains Speedway track champion during that 1991 season when Moore last won at the track.

Reigning Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock division champion Billy Childs, Jr. of Leeds made his first appearance of the 2018 racing season a memorable one, as he made a last-lap charge past Gary Babineau to win the 30-lap race by a margin of .064-seconds – mere inches on the asphalt.

Babineau, of Hollis Center, led 29.95 of the 30 laps en route to a runner-up finish. Zach Bowie of Greene made a late charge into contention in the unusually wild race. New daddy Tyler King of Gray was fourth under the checkered flag, followed by David Vaughn of Naples.


Adam Sanborn of West Paris scored his first win in the Bandits division, leading all 20 laps. Sanborn, the runner-up in last year’s championship battle, held off current points leader Dustin Salley of Poland to claim victory. Cam Childs of Leeds was third across the finish line, followed by Kyle Hewins of Leeds and Buckfield’s Chad Wills.

Dale Lawrence of Lisbon drove to victory for the third time this year in the 20-lap Figure 8 race. Kyle Glover of Oxford matched his season-best runner-up finish. Larry Lizotte of Poland was third, followed by championship points leader Kyle Kilgore of South Paris and Greg Durgin, also from South Paris.

Other winners on a busy night at Oxford include Calab Emerson-Mains (Outlaws); Brandon Varney (Rebels and Cruisers); Ryan Farrar (Sport Trucks) and Breeanna Spaulding (Ladies). For Oxford’s Acceleration Series teams, it was a chance to race in front of a big crowd gathered to see the fireworks. 

Hall edges Gerry at The Ridge

Garrett Hall knows his way around Beech Ridge Motor Speedway’s tight 1/3-mile layout as well as any current driver at the NASCAR-sanctioned short track. Hall, of Scarborough, edged former track champion Curtis Gerry by a mere .132 seconds to claim the Pro Series 125 on Saturday.

Gerry has been tough to beat on his home track since winning the Oxford 250 last August. He picked up right where he left off last year with a strong start in April, winning a PASS 150 at Oxford with amazing speed late in the race.


Turner veteran Mike Rowe finished Saturday’s 125 in third, while Donnie Colpritt Jr. and Corey Bubar completed the top five.

Frank Wear claimed a hotly-contested 75-lap tilt for the Sport series teams. Wear, of Buxton, got past early leader Richard Pelton in the closing laps to take top honors. Pelton settled for second, while young talent Alex Lacognata continued to impress with a solid third-place finish.

Beech Ridge veteran Clyde Hennessey (Windham) and Mike St. Pierre (Buxton) finished fourth and fifth, respectively. Dan Bean prevailed in a wild, 50-lap battle for Wildcat teams. Bean held off a hard-charging Dave Cameron (Alfred) to secure the win, while Travis Lovejoy (Alfred) finished third.

Cole Watson (Naples) crossed the line in fourth, while Cody Webster (Standish) wheeled his beautiful No. 96 entry to a solid fifth-place finish.

It’s a quick turnaround for southern Maine race teams this week, as Beech Ridge hosts its Firecracker 50 program on Monday, July 2.

Hinkley bags Pro Stock win at Wiscasset


Nick Hinkley unofficially claimed his third victory of 2018 on Saturday in a 50-lap National Qualifier for the headlining Pro Stock division at Wiscasset Speedway. Track policy dictates a mandatory engine inspection after a driver’s third win.

Thomaston’s Daren Ripley finished second, while Kevin Douglass (Sidney) filled out the podium in third. Joe Decker (Chesterville) finished nearly nine seconds back in fourth, while Cody Tribbett (Richmond) completed the top five.

Harpswell veteran Mark Lucas notched his second win of the season in a hotly-contested 25-lap tilt for Super Street warriors. Lucas edged Bothbay’s Jason Oakes by less than a second at the line, while Zac Poland (Woolwich) put in a solid effort to claim third.

Other winners on Saturday evening at Wiscasset include Connor Wenners (4-Cyl. Pros); and current Outlaw Mini division point leader Zach Audet, who was awarded his first Thunder 4 Mini victory after apparent winner Spencer Sweatt failed post-race technical inspection (due to a motor mount infraction). 



Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.