AUBURN — The Androscoggin County Commission will welcome four new members in January.

In the only race where the results were unknown Tuesday night, Republican candidate Terri Kelly Stankiewicz of Mechanic Falls won a three-way race over Democrat Shannon Dalton and Libertarian Raynond Lafrance in District 6.

Despite Dalton winning both Auburn and Poland, Stankiewicz’s 245-vote margin in Mechanic Falls was just enough to maintain a 3,175-2,986 advantage over Dalton. Lafrance, who held the seat for the past three months, finished third with 1,454 votes.

The other contested races saw John Butler  defeat Melissa Simones Landry, 3,337-2,788,  in Destrict 2 (part of Lewiston) and independent John Michael edging incumbent Bonney Starbird, 2,655-2,487, in District 5 (part of Auburn).

The fourth newcomer is Republican Brian Ames of Lewiston, who ran unopposed in District 3. Sally Christner of Turner, who was also unopposed, won a third term in District 7.

Terri Kelly Stankiewicz


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.