Despite having his helmet ripped off, resulting in a 15-yard penalty against Gray New-Gloucester, Dirigo’s Alex Gorham continues to drive forward as whistles blow to stop play during a football game in Dixfield in September. (Russ Dillingham/Sun Journal File Photo)

The 12 semifinalists for the Fitzpatrick Trophy were announced Wednesday, and Alex Gorham of Dirigo was one of the dozen to make the cut.

Gorham was named the Most Valuable Player in Class E this season, playing running back and linebacker, as well as punt returner, for the Class E runner-up Cougars.

The 48th annual Fitzpatrick Trophy, given to the top senior high school football player in the state, as voted on by coaches and the media, will be handed out Jan. 20 at Holiday Inn by the Bay in Portland. The 12 semifinalists will be whittled down to three finalists through voting by coaches and media members that closes Dec. 14.

The other 11 semifinalists, who were all nominated by their coaches and selected by the Fitzpatrick Trophy committee, are: Anthony Bracamonte, of Thornton Academy; Tyler Bridge, of Wells; Marcus Christopher, of Skowhegan; Dante DeLorenzo, of Kennebunk; Carter Edgerton, of Biddeford; Zack Elowitch, of Portland; Tommy Springer, of Marshwood; Carter Tolmasoff, of Bucksport; Garrett Trask, of Hermon; Will Whyte, of Bonny Eagle; and Matt Wozniak, of Cony.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.