Saint Dominic Academy’s Avery Lutrzykowski, left, and Red Hornets’ Taylor Cailler battle for the puck earlier this month in Auburn. Russ Dillingham/Sun Journal


St. Dominic Academy’s Avery Lutrzykowski is one of four finalists for the second annual Becky Schaffer Award.

The award, given to the state’s top high school senior in girls ice hockey, will be presented during the senior all-star game Thursday at the Family Ice Center in Falmouth.

Along with Lutrzykowski, the finalists are Zoe Mazur of Cheverus/Kennebunk/Old Orchard Beach, Sophia Venditti of Cape Elizabeth/Waynflete/South Portland and Emily Demers of Portland/Deering.

Last year, Courtney Sullivan of Greely/Gray-New Gloucester won the inaugural award, presented by the Maine High School Girls Hockey Association.

The award is named after Becky Schaffer, a 2006 graduate of Yarmouth High School who played hockey on the girls club team and the boys varsity team. Schaffer played on the McGill University club team and, after graduation, traveled internationally, helping underserved children. She died in 2011, from a fall during a hike in Micronesia.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: