Lewiston goalie Camree St. Hilaire tries to see through a sea of players in front of the net during a game last month at the Androscoggin Bank Colisee in Lewiston. Russ Dillingham/Sun Journal Buy this Photo


Lewiston goalie Camree St. Hilaire and Edward Little/Leavitt/Poland goalie Manny Guimond are among five finalists for this year’s Becky Schaffer Award.

Edward Little/Leavitt/Poland goalie Maranda Guimond makes a save last month in Auburn. Russ Dillingham/Sun Journal Buy this Photo

The award  is presented annually by the Maine High School Girls Hockey Association to the top senior player in Maine. The winner will be announced during the girls hockey senior game at the Family Ice Center in Falmouth on Feb. 27 at 7 p.m.

Other finalists are defenseman Hannah Woodford of Cheverus/Old Orchard Beach, forward Sophia Santamaria of York/Traip/Marshwood and defenseman Leah Walker of Greely.

The award is named after Becky Schaffer, a 2006 graduate of Yarmouth High School who played hockey on the girls club team and the boys varsity team. After graduating from McGill University, Schaffer traveled internationally for humanitarian efforts. She died in 2011 from a fall during a hike in Micronesia.

The previous two winners of the award are Avery Lutrzykowski of St. Dom’s (2019) and Courtney Sullivan of Greely/Gray-New Gloucester (2018).

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.