SOUTH PARIS — Toby Whitman of West Paris was elected to represent his local administrative area during the recent county committee election, according to the Oxford County U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency.

Dana Lowell of Buckfield will serve as the first alternate.

“County Committee members are a critical component of the day-to-day operations of FSA,” said Marcia Hall, county executive director, according to a news release from the agency. “They help deliver programs at the county level and work to serve the needs of local producers. All recently elected county committee members will take office in January 2022 and will be joining the existing committee.”

Every FSA office is served by a county committee made up of local farmers, ranchers and foresters who are elected by local producers. Sue Billings also serves on the committee.

Committee members impact the administration of FSA within a community by applying their knowledge and judgment to help FSA make important decisions on its commodity support programs, conservation programs, indemnity and disaster programs, emergency programs and eligibility.

County committee members provide a service to local producers through their decision making and ensure the fair and equitable administration of FSA farm programs in their counties. They are accountable to the secretary of agriculture.

Members conduct hearings and reviews as requested by the state committee, ensure that underserved farmers, ranchers and foresters are fairly represented, make recommendations to the state committee on existing programs, monitor changes in farm programs, and inform farmers of the purpose and provisions of FSA programs.

They also assist with outreach and inform underserved producers such as beginning farmers, ranchers and foresters about FSA opportunities.

For more information, visit or call the Oxford County FSA office at 207-743-5789.

Comments are not available on this story.