The Maine Basketball Hall of Fame announced its Class of 2022 on Wednesday, a group that includes 14 inductees, seven “Legends of the Game” and a legendary high school team.

They will be honored Aug. 28 at the Cross Insurance Center in Bangor. Tickets will go on sale in May on the hall of fame’s website.

The inductees are:

 Kim Condon Lane was the 1997 Miss Maine Basketball winner and a 1,000-point scorer at Presque Isle High School. She went on to score 1,094 points at Colby College and led the Mules to the ECAC Championship in 2001.

 Lauree Gott was a two-time captain at the University of Maine during the 1980s, scoring 1,387 points and grabbing 781 rebounds. A graduate of Old Town High, she has coached at the high school and collegiate level.

Mark Karter, the Gorham High boys’ basketball coach, has nearly 450 career victories that include a 65-game winning streak. His Mountain Valley team captured a state championship in 1991.


 Steve LeVasseur compiled 333 victories and won five state championships while coaching at Schenck High School — three with girls’ teams and two with boys’ squads. He was an All-State player at Schenck and scored 1,000 points at Husson College.

 Rick McAvoy graduated in 1967 from Sherman High School, where he led the squad to an undefeated season and a state championship. At Fort Kent State College (now the University of Maine-Fort Kent), he was a four-time All-Maine selection.

 Neile Joler Nelson earned Maine NCAA Woman of the Year honors at St. Joseph’s College, and is a member of the Monks Hall of Fame for softball and basketball. In 1991, she was a McDonald’s Senior All-Star while at Fort Kent High School.

 Crystal Pazdziorko Proulx led the University of Maine in scoring twice during the 1970s and is the school’s No. 10 all-time rebounder. She led Gardiner High School to its first girls’ Class A state championship, scoring 102 points in four playoff games.

Jim Ray represented Cape Elizabeth High School as a player and coach for 30 years. As a coach for 26 seasons, his Capers won 350 games, including five regional championships, and a Gold Ball in 2015. He was an All-League player at Cape and a standout at the University of Southern Maine.

Adrienne Shibles, the winningest coach in Bowdoin College women’s basketball history, is in her first season as the coach at Dartmouth College. Shibles guided the Polar Bears to a 281-65 (.805) record, two New England Small College Athletic Conference championships, 11 NCAA Tournament appearances and back-to-back NCAA Division III title game appearances.


Sharon Siebert scored 1,000 points and grabbed 1,000 rebounds at Husson and was a three-time All-American honorable mention. When inducted into the Husson’s Sports Hall of Fame, she was the Eagles’ all-time leader in points (1,882), scoring average (17.1), field goals made (698), free throws made (484) and rebounds (1,031).

 Ken Stone was a first team All-State selection in 1959 while at Deering High School. When he graduated from Colby College in 1964, he was the Mules’ career scoring leader with 1,500 points and remains ninth on the school’s scoring list.

Jeff Sturgeon was a captain and an All-America East selection in 1984 at the University of Maine. At Old Town High School, Sturgeon was a first-team All-State selection in 1980. As a senior, he led Old Town to the state title game against South Portland.

Julie Treadwell was an all-conference player for University of Maine women’s basketball team in the 1980s. She remains sixth all time in career assists, with 387. At Orono High School, Treadwell scored 944 points and was All-State honorable mention.

Lee Williams’ Colby College men’s basketball teams won 252 games from 1946 to 1965, and 10 Maine State championships, including eight straight. He also was executive director of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches and a member of the Olympic Men’s Basketball Committee.

The “Legends of the Game” are: journalist Joni Averill, an advocate for women’s sports; longtime coach and former St. Louis High star Ron Cote; broadcaster Dale Duff; former Schenck High star Mark Rosebush; Malaka “Tookie” Russell, a pioneer as a girls’ sports coach at Maine Central Institute; former Rumford High coach John Shaw; and Harry “Pinky” True, a star at Gorham High and a longtime high school coach.

The 1975 East Grand High School girls’ basketball team is also being honored. They won the Class D championship in Maine’s first state tournament for girls, three years after Title IX was enacted.

Comments are no longer available on this story