Alan Tardiff (9) drives ahead of Curtis Gerry (7) during Super Late Model action at Oxford Plains Speedway on Saturday. Oriana Lovell photo

After a month’s worth of fruitless laps around Oxford Plains Speedway’s four turns, Alan Tardiff finally tasted victory in Super Late Model action at the Oxford track Saturday.

Tardiff crossed the finish line first in the 50-lap SLM feature during Oxford Championship Series action. Max Cookson was runner-up for the second week in a row, and Calvin Rose Jr. Picked up his first podium finish of the season with a third-place showing.

Tardiff finished near the front in the first two features of the season, placing sixth and fourth, respectively. A week ago, he ended up 14th in the 16-car field.

Jordan Russell didn’t win Saturday’s 30-lap Street Stocks feature, but his runner-up finish was as big of a redemption story as Tardiff’s one-week turnaround. Russell, who crashed hard in his usual No. 4 car during a racing accident the week before, wheeled Joe Hutter’s No. 2 car — which placed third in the previous week’s feature — to a second-place finish behind Tyson Jordan.

In other action Saturday, Chris Smith (Limiteds), Corey Morgan (Mad Bombers), Jeremy Turner (Rookies), Charlie Young (Thunder Stocks) and Larry Lizotte (Figure 8s) were all repeat winners from earlier this season.

Oxford Plains Speedway will host two racing events this coming holiday weekend. On Saturday, the Oxford Championship Series will take its normal turn, with a special guest in the Wicked Good Racing Association’s Hobby division. Two days later, the first Motor Mayhem event of the season will occur on Monday, with the Oxford Acceleration Series divisions in action for the first time this year.



Group 1 at Wiscasset Speedway took its third turn at the track Saturday, along with the first enduro of the season.

Josh St. Clair won for the fifth time at the track this year, but it was his first victory of the season in the Pro Stocks division. He had to hold off Kevin Douglass to capture the flag. Douglass, a two-time winner this season, finished second.

David Cook won for the second time this season, beating out opening day winner Zach Audet for the feature victory in the Thunder 4 Mini division.

Tiger Colby (Super Streets) and Sylas Ripley (4-Cylinder Pros) each earned their first-career victories in their respective divisions. It is the 12-year-old Ripley’s first win at the track.

Mike Landry was the winner in the 100-lap enduro race.


The track will be hosting the Coastal 200 on Sunday.


For the second straight weekend, the Pro All Stars Series was forced to wipe out its schedule of events because of weather.

The PASS Super Late Models and Mods were both slated to be in action, as well as the American-Canadian Tour, at Monadnock Speedway in Winchester, New Hampshire.

The next scheduled event for the PASS SLMs and Mods is Sunday, June 12, at Oxford Plains.


Maine native Joey Doiron was fastest in the Granite State on Saturday, winning the Granite State Pro Stock Series feature at Lee Speedway.

Doiron beat out the winner of the GSPSS’s previous event, Bryan Kruczek, for the checkered flag in the 100-lap race.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.