The 2022 spring graduating game wardens, from left, are Julia Horst, Garrett Moody, Alex Maxsimic, Emerson Duplissie-Cyr, Tyler Harhart, Hunter Howard, Arron Rideout, Chris Carney, Caleb Nicholas and Maddie Killian. Submitted photo

Ten new game wardens graduated May 13 from the Advanced Warden School at the Maine Criminal Justice Academy in Vassalboro. These new game wardens have been assigned districts throughout the state, and are now sworn officers of the Maine Warden Service, according to a news release from the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife.

Judy Camuso, the department’s commissioner, one of the featured speakers, reminded the graduates that “As an agency, we possess and maintain a reputation that is envied by other states. That reputation was earned by the people you work with, and those who came before you. It was earned through a commitment to honesty, fairness, perseverance, compassion and dedication. It now is up to you, to make that same commitment to those core values that we all share, to uphold and enhance the reputation of the department and the Maine Warden Service.”

Joining Camuso as speakers during the ceremony were Maine Warden Service Col. Dan Scott, Advanced Warden Service Academy Cadre Kale O’Leary, retired game warden lieutenant Pat Dorian, and class speaker game warden Hunter Henry.

The wardens completed an 12-week academy that focused on subject matter specific to the Warden Service, including search and rescue, fish and wildlife laws and regulations, boating, fishing, hunting, ATVing and snowmobiling. This 12-week course came after all the officers had completed the 18-week Basic Law Enforcement Training Program required of Maine law enforcement officers

The 10 new game wardens, their hometown, and their assigned district are as follows:

Chris Carney of Wells, Kennebunk district;


Emerson Duplissie-Cyr of Caribou, Saco district;

Tyler Harhart of Lugoff, South Carolina, Kittery district;

Julia Horst, Chatham, New York, Sidney district;

Hunter Howard of Skowhegan, Augusta district;

Maddie Killian of Ipswich, Massachusetts, Rangeley district;

Alex Maxsimic of Holden, Farmington district;

Garrett Moody of Topsham, Eustis district;

Caleb Nicholas of Indian Township, Passamaquoddy Territories (Passamaquoddy Warden Service); and

Arron Rideout of Lincoln, Bangor district.

Comments are not available on this story.