Poland Spring Resort owner Cyndi Robbins,  left of podium, watches at employees are inducted into the Maine Tourism Association’s Hall of Fame. 

POLAND — As part of its 100th year celebrations, the Maine Tourism Association held its annual meeting and centennial gala May 19 and 20 at Poland Spring Resort.

The organization was founded as the Maine Publicity Bureau by Hiram W. Ricker, son of the founder of Poland Spring, with the goal of “advertising the attractions of Maine as a tourist State.”

“There is so much history between our two businesses,” Chief Executive Officer Tony Cameron said. “Cyndi Robbins is terrific to work with so we couldn’t ask for a better partnership,” he said of the resort owner.

Each year, the group inducts a person or persons into its Hall of Fame who, through their leadership, dedication and professionalism, have made significant and sustained contributions to the tourism industry in Maine. This year’s Hall of Fame inductees are Maine’s tourism employees.

“These workers are the backbone of our industry,” association board Chairman Rick Martin said. “They have made tourism the success it has been over the past 100 years and will keep it going for the next 100 years. It is particularly appropriate that we recognize them in 2022, after the past very challenging two years and all they have done to help tourism survive and recover.”

All Maine Tourism Association members will receive a certificate recognizing their employees as Hall of Fame inductees. The first certificate was presented to the staff at Poland Spring Resort, who received a standing ovation for their outstanding work on the organization’s gala.

The annual meeting also included the induction of two new members to the board of directors: Geoff Iacuessa, president and general manager of the Portland Sea Dogs, and Don Kleiner, owner of Maine Outdoors, a professional guide service in Union.

Two other board members had their terms renewed: Lynn Tillotson, VisitPortland, and Scott Riccio, Northeast Charter & Tour Co. of Lewiston.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.