Sign in or Subscribe See Offers

Sign In:

The Bethel Citizen
Updated June 16, 2022
increase font size Resize Font

New faces on SAD 44 board and Bethel’s Select Board

Five candidates were seeking election to two open seats on the Board Select Board, each for a three-year term, including incumbents Michele Varuolo Cole and Neil Scanlon. Neither were re-elected.

On Tuesday, the two were elected to fill two three-year terms as SAD 44 directors, with 373 and 316 votes, respectively.

Candidate Michael Clark-Pelletier garnered 269 votes; incumbent David Jones drew 254 votes.

Incumbent SAD 44 Director Erin Cooley of Greenwood was re-elected to her seat, earning 419 votes to challenger Destiny Hughes’ 151 votes.

Newry School Directors Amy Henley and David Bartlett were each re-elected to three-year terms. Neither had faced challengers for the seats.

And, Woodstock incumbent Director Marcy Winslow faced no challengers and was reseated for a three-year term.

In Bethel, there will also be fresh faces around the Select Board table.

Five candidates were seeking election to two open seats on the board, each for a three-year term, including incumbents Michele Varuolo Cole and Neil Scanlon. Neither were re-elected.

Instead, newcomers Meryl Kelly and Frank Delduca were elected, with 241 and 191 votes, respectively.

Kelly is also a member of the town’s Planning Board; her term expires on Dec. 31.

Varuolo Cole received 180 votes and, Scanlon, 169 votes. The remaining candidate, Christopher Tyler received 61 votes.

Incumbent Assessor Neil Scanlon was re-elected.

In Newry, Gary Wight, who currently serves as chairman of the Select Board, was re-elected without challenge. And, voters narrowly approved three ordinances. The first will amend the United Development Review Ordinance for the town, the second amends the Building Code Ordinance, and the third amends the town’s Shoreland Zoning Map.

At the county level, Oxford County Sheriff Christopher Wainwright of Canton won the Republican primary with a commanding lead over Republican Richard Murray of Fryeburg, who is a corporal at the Sheriff’s Office and was running as a write-in candidate.

Wainwright was elected sheriff in 2018 and has been with the department for more than 30 years. He will face off against  Independent Justin Brown of Hartford in the General Election in November.

There are two candidates seeking election to serve as the district attorney for Oxford, Androscoggin and Franklin counties. They are current Assistant District Attorney Neil McLean Jr., who is a Republican from Turner, and attorney Edward Rabasco Jr., a Democrat from Poland, who launched a write-in campaign in early June for the primary to secure a spot on the General Election ballot. The two will face off in November.

Maine’s House and Senate seats have all been renamed as a result of redistricting following the 2020 Census,

What had been House District 117 is now District 78, and what had been known as Senate District 18 is now District 19.

House District 78

Rep. Frances Head, who had represented what was formerly known as House District 117, representing Bethel, Newry, Andover and surrounding areas, has termed out of the Maine House.

The Republican candidate for that seat is Josanne Dolloff of Milton Plantation, who is currently serving her second term representing District 115, serving on the Veterans and Legal Affairs and Leaves of Absence committees.

The Democrat candidate for the District 78 seat is David Thurston of Bethel.

Neither candidate was challenged in Tuesday’s primary, which means the two will face each other for the Senate seat on Tuesday, Nov. 8.

Senate District 19

Lisa Keim, a Republican from Rumford, was elected in 2016 to represent what was known as District 18, which covers the more northern section of Oxford County, and has most recently served on the Government Oversight and Judiciary committees.

Timothy Carter of Bethel is the Democratic candidate for this seat. A former member of the Maine House of Representatives, he has served on the Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry Committee.

Like the House candidates, neither one was challenged in the primary and will face each other for the Senate seat in November.

Comments are not available on this story.

filed under:
  • Regional News