Some of the lead singers and musicians from Community Little Theater’s upcoming production of “School of Rock – The Musical,” from left are Maisy Seaver (“Katie,” bass guitar), Isana Bell (“Marcy,” back-up singer), Daphne Cifelli (“Shonelle,” back-up singer), Meaghan Rivard (“Tomika,” lead singer), Owen Hiltz (“Freddie,” drums), Brendon Bouchard (“Dewey Finn”), Zane Deletetsky (“Lawrence,” keyboard), and Dashiell Legawiec (lead guitar). The show will run from Aug. 11-14 and 18-21.  Submitted photo

“School of Rock – The Musical” will be performed Aug. 11-21, at Community Little Theatre in Auburn.

Based on the 2003 movie starring Jack Black, “School of Rock – The Musical” tells the story of Dewey Finn, a failed, wannabe rock star who decides to earn an extra bit of cash by posing as a substitute teacher at a prestigious prep school. There, Dewey turns a class of straight–A pupils into a guitar-shredding, bass-slapping, mind-blowing rock band. But can Dewey get them to the “Battle of the Bands” without their parents and the school’s leadership finding out? Along the way, Dewey finds romance, self-worth, a proper job, and, most importantly, he teaches the kids and their parents the beauty of rock!

“The musical numbers in the show are written by Andrew Lloyd Webber and have elements of the seventies and eighties rock sound such as ACDC, Metallica, Black Sabbath, and Deep Purple,” notes director Paul G. Caron. “This musical focuses on how music speaks to all of us and how children can let out their inner creative selves when they are taught by a passionate and positive mentor,” Caron added.

Caron heads up a strong cast of some 30 youth and adult actors, singers, and musicians. Lead roles are played by Brendon Bouchard, Mackenzie Richard, Justin Morin, and Adelyn Bell. Other speaking roles belong to Lena LaRoche, Meghan Rivard, Dashiell Legawiec, Owen Hiltz, Maisy Seaver, Zane Deletetsky, Isana Bell, Daphne Cifelli, Julia Pfohl, Ellie Pfohl, Paige Scala, Violet McDonald, and Evie True. The ensemble includes Josh Caron, Sara Poulin, Tim Cowan, Jeff Fairfield, Mackenzie Finnegan, Gregory Judd, Jude Leaver, Adrian Morneau, Brian Pfohl, Anna Sargeant, and Becca Tinkham.

“All the young actors in the show are extremely talented and experienced,” Caron says. “It is a joy to work with each one of them and it is exciting to think of how impressive their performances are going to be. By the way, the adults are pretty good, too!”

Showtimes are at 7:30 p.m. on August 11, 12, 13, 18, 19 and 20; and at 2:00 p.m. on August 14 and 21. Community Little Theatre is located at 30 Academy St., Auburn.

For tickets, or more information, call 207-783-0958 or visit

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.