FRYEBURG —  Fryeburg Academy announces the departure of Head of School Erin P. Mayo at the close of the 2022-23 academic year. Mayo is the first female head of school in the academy’s 231-year history and will complete her 10th and final year of service to the school.

Erin P. Mayo is leaving her position as Head of School at Fryeburg Academy after 10 years.

“As I reflect on the last nine years and the 221 that came before them, I am amazed and proud of all that we’ve achieved together in building upon the Academy’s storied history and firm foundations,” said Mayo. “We developed and delivered on ambitious strategic goals, including expanding campus by 60-plus acres; erecting Shaffner Hall to include the new LaCasce dining room, the Theodore Blaich post-secondary counseling center and the T. Scott Gamwell student union.”

“Not least of all,” Mayo added, “in weathering the pandemic together with shared clarity, purpose, love, and grit, the academy community has — in William Faulkner’s words about his best hope for humankind — not merely endured, but prevailed. And I can’t speak of this degree of appreciation without also thanking my husband Peter and our children Musa, Maeve, and Gunnar for their abiding love and support, always.”

“Throughout her nine years at Fryeburg Academy, virtually every discussion with me or the trustees has been focused on what is best for our students — today and in their future,” said Chris Gordon, board of trustees president.

“This guiding principle has provided us with a clear, driven leader constantly demonstrating integrity, innovation, and progress. The board of trustees would like to thank Erin for all she has accomplished for the thousands of students who have traveled our halls during what will be a decade she has been at the helm of the Academy — by any measure, her time has been a success that will leave an impressive mark on our history and set the school up for more success going forward.”

Comments are no longer available on this story