LISBON — Two longtime members of the the Lisbon School Committee said Wednesday that they do not intend to run for reelection when their terms expire this November.

Chairperson Traci Austin and Vice Chairperson Kathi Yergin both feel it’s time to retire from the School Committee. They hope to give others in the community the opportunity to get involved and guide the future of the Lisbon school district.

Austin has been a member of the School Committee for 16 years, and Yergin, 13 years.

This November, Lisbon residents will select officials for four Town Council positions, three with three-year terms and one with a two-year term, and three School Committee seats, each with three-year terms.

Nomination papers for Town Council and School Committee positions are now available at the Lisbon town office.

Town Councilors Don Fellows, Mark Lunt and Jason Smith are all approaching the end of their terms.


Lunt and Smith told the Sun Journal they plan to run for reelection. Fellows has already filed his nomination forms, according to Lisbon Town Clerk Lisa Ward.

Town Councilor Christine Cain, who was appointed to fill a vacancy left by former Town Councilor Cliff Miller, said she will run to complete the final two years of the term.

School Committee member Kelli Rogers’ term is also ending this fall. The Sun Journal was unable to reach Rogers by its deadline Wednesday to confirm whether they will run for reelection.

In total, one person has taken out nomination papers for the two-year Town Council seat, three people, including Fellows, have taken out papers for the open three-year seats, and one person has taken out papers for the three open School Committee seats, according to Ward.

Candidates must be a resident of Lisbon and a registered voter in order to run for town office. They also must collect at least 50 signatures from registered voters in Lisbon, although the town recommends collecting more than the minimum.

Papers must be submitted to the town clerk by 4 p.m. on Sept. 9. The election will be held on Nov. 8.

Related Headlines

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.