Eleven area players have been selected to the Maine Field Hockey Association All-State team.

Criteria for inclusion on the all-state team, according to the association, includes consistently performing at a high skill level, possessing leadership on and off the field, exhibiting excellent sportsmanship and dedication to the sport of field hockey.

Oxford Hills’ Allison Slicer (2) eyes Messalonskee defender Shea Cassani as she advances the ball up the left sideline during a game at Gouin Athletic Complex in Paris last month. Brewster Burns photo

Seven area schools are represented on the all-state team, including two players each from Oxford Hills, Dirigo, Lisbon and Winthrop.

Area players on the all-state team: Oxford Hills’ Gabby Wright and Allison Slicer, Leavitt’s Emma Beedy, Poland’s Abby Bsullak, Dirigo’s Emily Woods and Jayce Brophy, Lisbon’s Madelyn Breton-Tuplin and Haley-Jane Tuplin, Spruce Mountain’s Olivia Mastine, and Winthrop’s Madeline Wagner and Emma Shuman.

Haley-Jane Tuplin is also one of four finalists for the Miss Maine Field Hockey award. The winner will be announced Dec. 4 during the Maine Field Hockey Association annual awards ceremony.

The MFHA also announced that Massabesic’s Aleya Fogg is the recipient of the Steph Lunt 12th Player Award, and the names of three new inductees into the MFHA Hall of Fame: longtime official Pam Hennessey, former Cape Elizabeth coach Andrea Cayer and former Skowhegan and University of Southern Maine standout Meredith Bradley Bickford.


BATES’ HOOKS WINS MAJOR AWARD: Bates College senior Tony Hooks was named the winner of the 76th Nils V. “Swede” Nelson Award by the Gridiron Club of Boston on Monday.

Bates’ Tony Hooks (5) celebrates after making a big play against Colby at Garcelon Field in Lewiston on Oct. 30. Theophil Syslo/Bates College

The “Swede,” the fourth-oldest award in college football, is presented to a player for “exceptional achievement in sportsmanship, academics and athletics.” First awarded in 1946, only the Heisman, Maxwell and George “Bulger” Lowe awards precede the “Swede.”

The award is presented to two players each season — one from Division I, in either the Bowl or Championship subdivision, and one from either Division II or Division III.

Hooks, a linebacker and captain for the Bobcats this season, is the second Bates player to receive the award, following Mark Upton in 2017.

The New Rochelle, New York native ranked 11th in the country with 11.3 tackles per game this season, including a program-record 23 in the Bobcats’ win over Bowdoin.

In a news release announcing the award, the Bates College athletic department said: “In addition to sporting a 3.7 GPA on a 4.0 scale, Hooks has served as president of the Bates College Investment Club. He led a Bone Marrow Drive on campus that registered 334 new donors in 2022. He is a leader in the Bates Athletes of Color Coalition and a member of the Bates Athletics Agents of Change, which focuses on social injustices at the college, and in the community as a whole. He has also volunteered with Meals on Wheels America and the MLK Center in Newport, Rhode Island.”


Hooks will be honored with award during the Gridiron Club of Boston’s annual Bob Whelan Football Awards Night on Dec. 19 at the Marriott Hotel in Burlington, Massachusetts.

UMF DUO EARN NAC HONORS: University of Maine at Farmington seniors Terion Moss and Jack Kane were each honored by the North Atlantic Conference with weekly awards Monday.

Moss was named the NAC Player of the Week, while Kane was named the conference’s Defensive Player of the Week.

Moss averaged 22.3 points and 8.7 rebounds across three games, in which the Beavers went 2-1. He made 21 of 48 shots (43.8%) and converted 20 of 26 free throws (76.9%).

Kane totaled nine blocks in the three games, along with 11 defensive rebounds.

Both players played key roles in the wins over University of New England and Emmanuel College. Moss notched a double-double against UNE (17 points, 10 rebounds), then exploded for 36 points and nine rebounds at Emmanuel. Kane delivered four blocks in each of the victories.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.