Edward Little’s Campbell Cassidy is one of five finalists for the Travis Roy Award, the Maine Class A Coaches Association announced Friday.

Cassidy led the Red Eddies in scoring this season with 22 goals and 29 assists. He becomes Edward Little’s sixth finalist joining Jack Keefe (2022), Will Cassidy (2021), Ben Steele (2016), Mat Gordon (2010), Kyle Smith (2004), and Josh Benson (2002).

Smith and Benson ended up winning the award, which goes to the top senior boys hockey player in Class A.

For the first time in the award’s history, two finalists come from the same school. Aaron Higgins of Falmouth is the state’s leading point-getter with 33 goals and 33 assists, while teammate Mitch Ham had 24 goals and 41 assists this season.

Jamie Sperlich of Biddeford/Old Orchard Beach/Massabesic had nine goals and nine assists this season.

Lucas Hubbard of Thornton Academy rounds out the five finalists. He scored four times and has added 15 assists in 20 contests this season.

The winner will be announced in a ceremony next Saturday.

Comments are no longer available on this story