PARIS — Town officials are hosting a Meet the Candidates night at 6 p.m. Thursday at the Fire Station at 137 Western Ave.

Candidates for selectmen, the SAD 17 board of directors and the Paris Utility District board of trustees are expected to attend.

Four candidates are running for two seats on the Select Board. Vice Chairman Scott McElravy is running for reelection. He won a race for an open seat in 2019 and won reelection for a three-year term in 2020.

Also seeking a seat on the board are Matthew Brackett, Christopher Buffington and Jonathan Longley.

Carlton Sprague is not running for reelection.

Voters will also have a choice of four candidates for two open seats on the local school board of directors. Christie Wessels, who was unanimously appointed by selectmen in January following the recall of Sarah Otterson, is seeking to retain her seat. The other candidates, also for three-year terms, include Ronald Ramsey III, Doreen Simmons and Autumn Stan.


Robert Jewell is stepping down after three terms.

Troy Ripley is unopposed for a one-year term.

Matthew Dieterich and Samuel Elliott are running for reelection on the Paris Utility District board of trustees. They are being challenged by Raymond Lussier. Dieterich is the board chairman.

The election in June 13.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: