Voters in seven of the eight Oxford Hills School District towns approved all education budgets and a construction bond and two grants Tuesday.

Results from West Paris were still pending Wednesday.

The preliminary tally for Maine School Administrative District 17, Maine Vocational Region 11, and Oxford Hills and Nezinscot Region Adult Education budgets was 915-382.

The district had three requests to fund construction projects on the ballot and all won passage in Norway, Paris, Otisfield, Oxford, Harrison, Hebron and Waterford.

A $2.55 million bond will pay for security improvements and Americans with Disabilities Act compliance at Waterford Memorial School, Otisfield Community School and Harrison Elementary School. Of that amount, $2.34 million will come through the state’s School Revolving Renovation Fund, and $209,101 would be raised through a bond. The preliminary tally was 915-362.

The second construction question involved accepting $890,000 from a federal grant to build and equip a new classroom building at Roberts Farm Preserve in Norway. The new building will replace the aging mobile building, which has no bathroom facilities. The district has utilized at the farm for more than a decade. The preliminary tally was 976-371.


The third construction question was to build a two-story building for Oxford Hills Technical School’s plumbing, electrical and building trades programs to be paid with a federal grant of $2.08 million. The preliminary tally was 1,176 to 196.


In Oxford, Selectman Dana Dillingham won reelection, as did Gay DeHart with 131 votes. There were no candidates for two open seats, but former Director Shauna Broyer and Nathan Broyer each received four write-ins.

In Harrison, six candidates vied for two positions on the Board of Selectmen. Matthew Frank received 150 votes and Nathan Session, 238, to be elected. Colleen Densmore received 138 votes, Michael Garvey 121, Debora Kane 97 and Brian Spaulding 38.

Comments are no longer available on this story

filed under: