Franklin Savings Bank’s Community Development Foundation has this year awarded $51,000 in college scholarships to 21 students from 11 local high schools and four technical centers.

Recipients benefited from scholarships ranging from $1,500 to $3,000.

Scholarships awarded to the area high-schools have been specially designated for students with an inclination towards business-related programs, covering areas like accounting, finance, marketing, management, computer sciences and other related fields. Primarily targeting those intending to attend a four-year college or university, the list of recipients includes:

  • Carrabec High School: Conner Peabody
  • Dirigo High School: Trent Holman
  • Ellsworth High School: Ellie Anderson and Leah McPherson
  • Madison Area Memorial High School: Olivia Askew and Madison Askew
  • Mountain Valley High School: Brooke Buotte
  • Abram High School: Lily Day
  • Blue High School: Connor Hufnagel and Allyson McCabe
  • Rangeley Lakes Regional School: Amelia Stokes
  • Skowhegan Area High School: Matthew Johnson
  • Spruce Mountain High School: Connor Blanche
  • Telstar Regional High School: Allen White

These students were selected based on their consistent academic achievements, robust community involvement, and noteworthy accomplishments in athletics and other extracurricular activities.

In 2020, Franklin Savings Bank expanded its support to four local career and technical centers that collaborate with local high schools. This support aims at students who showcased an aptitude in technical programs during their high school years and now wish to advance their skills at a tertiary level, focusing on either a two or four-year degree.

This year’s Franklin Scholars from career and technical centers are:

  • Foster Technical and Career Center: Elizabeth (Ella) Mayhew and Emily Maxim
  • Somerset Career and Technical Center: Eleanor Tibbetts and Callaway LePage
  • Hancock Technical Center: Briana Marie Kane and Addison Nelson
  • Region 9 School of Applied Technology: Samantha Roderick


Comments are no longer available on this story

filed under: