BATH — Wells took won the Class B South wrestling regional championship with 216 points. Dirigo came in second with 154 and Mountain Valley finished in third with 132.

Caiden Skidgell of Dirigo took home the regional title for the 120-pound weight class on a decision over Mountain Valley’s Chance Watson. Also from Dirigo, Hudson Lufkin won the 157-pound weight class on a fall against Medomak Valley’s Shamus Pease.

From Mountain Valley, Lucas Libby won the 150-pound weight class and Owen Gaudette won the 215-pound weight class.

Libby will go for his third consecutive state title next week at the Class B championships in his home gym at Mountain Valley High School in Rumford.

Oceanside’s Maddie Ripley, who last year became the first Maine girl to win a state title against boys, earned a 1-0 decision against Keygan Boucher of Mountain Valley.

at Morse High School, Bath
Team Scores
1. Wells 216
2. Dirigo 154
3. Mountain Valley 132
3. Oceanside 132
5. Morse 120
6. Lincoln 109
7. Medomak Valley 101
7. York 101
9. Monmouth/Richmond/Winthrop 77
10. Madison/Carrabec 66.5

Individual Results (top 4 advance to state)
106: Austin White-Ortiz (Oceanside) pin over Vincent Chapman (Dirigo), 0:30
113: Maddie Ripley (Oceanside) dec. Keygan Boucher (Mountain Valley), 1-0
120: Caiden Skidgell (Dirigo) dec. Chance Watson (MV), 9-3
126: Calvin Chase (Wells) dec. Sean Bonzagni (Morse), 4-3
132: Gavin Ripley (Oceanside) def. over Dyllan Davis (Wells), 2-2, 2:57
138: Adam St. Cyr (Lincoln Academy) dec. Chase Lunetta (Wells), 4-0
144:  Alex Albright (Wells) dec. Joey Fusco (Fryeburg), 4-1
150: Lucas Libby (MV) pin over Giacomo Smith (Erskine), 3:15
157: Hudson Lufkin (Dirigo) pin over Shamus Pease (Medomak) 4:28
165: Jayden Lafrenye (Lincoln) pin over Grady Pease (Medomak), 2:35
175: Jakobi Hagar (Lincoln) pin over Benjamin Orso (York), 2:26
190: Ben Ronca (York) pin over William Martinez (Wells), 3:08
215: Owen Gaudette (Mountain Valley) dec. Marshall Addy (Medomak), 6-3
285: Nathan Malloy (Wells) pin over Wesley Baltrus (Mountain Valley), 0:37
106: Devin Conte (York) pin over Kaiden Webster (Morse), 1:24
113: Nickolaus Allen (Wells) pin over Nathan Staples (Medomak), 1:20
120: Phoenix Martinez (Oceanside) pin over Julien Melendez (York), 3:31
126: Spencer Richard (Madison/Carrabec)  dec. Leighton Waite (Dirigo), 9-3
132: Cole Workman (Lincoln) pin over Colt Saxon (Monmouth/Richmond/Winthrop), 3:28
138: Jason Rowan (Morse) dec. Kaeden Swan (Dirigo), 4-2
144: Elijah Lindus (Dirigo) major dec. Noah Schultz (Monmouth/Richmond/Winthrop), 12-2
150: Braeden Cunningham (Morse) pin over Ethan Olsen (Dirigo), 1:34
157: Riley Malloy (Wells) dec. Jacob Ouellette (Morse), 16-9
165: Bryan Donnelly (Madison/Carrabec) major forfeit over Dominic Buxton (Wells)
175: Ashford Hays (Morse) pin over Brady Godin (Wells), 1:33
190: Aiden Sergent (Oceanside) pin over Braden McKenzie (Monmouth/Richmond/Winthrop), 2:07
215: Tate Taylor (Monmouth/Richmond/Winthrop) forfeit over Isaiah Bradeen (Dirigo)
285: Anton Kravchuk (Fryeburg) fall over Nathan Gess (Medomak), 1:42

Related Headlines

Comments are no longer available on this story