STRATTON – The Dead River Area Historical Society will be open from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Saturday and Sunday, June 28 and 29, in conjunction with Family Fun Days, and will feature the Flagstaff Room.
The village of Flagstaff was drowned in 1950 by Central Maine Power Co. when it erected a dam at Long Falls on the Dead River in order or create a hydropower reservoir.
On display are artifacts, manuscripts and photographs that have been donated or loaned by interested townspeople and descendants of original families of the Dead River region.
Collections from 1850 on include old carpentry and logging tools, china, glass, a church organ, furniture from native families, a complete schoolroom, a memorial room to the “lost” towns of Flagstaff and Dead River, the lineage of several native families and a host of memorabilia from native homesteads.
For more information, call Mary Henderson at 246-2271.
Comments are no longer available on this story