Do you favor passage of the proposed budget from Gov. John Baldacci, which was amended by the Democratic majority of the Appropriations Committee?
The budget bill aimed at filling a $109 million deficit for the year ending June 30. Democrats argued the budget restored cuts to Drugs to the Elderly and other programs, but still made painful cuts and preserved Dirigo, a program that on July 1 promises affordable health insurance to small businesses and individuals.

The largest division between Republicans and Democrats was disagreement on Dirigo start-up money: Republicans wanted to use $18 million to restore cuts to hospitals and other health-care providers. Democrats insisted that would unravel Dirigo, and that Mainers need access to affordable care promised by Dirigo. The budget was passed without support from Republicans.

FINAL HOUSE VOTE ON ENACTMENT: yes, 72; no, 57; absent, 21

How local members voted:

Robert R. Berube, R-Lisbon, absent

Joan Bryant-Deschenes, R-Turner, no

Margaret M. Craven, D-Lewiston, yes

Philip A. Cressey Jr., R-Baldwin, no

Rosita Gagne-Friel, D-Buckfield, yes

Theodore Heidrich, R-Oxford, no

Randy Hotham, R-Dixfield, no

Deborah Hutton, D-Bowdoinham, yes

Rodney C. Jennings, D-Leeds, absent

Arlan R. Jodrey, R-Bethel, no

Paul Lessard, D-Topsham, yes

Richard H. Mailhot, D-Lewiston, yes

Elaine Makas, D-Lewiston, yes

Linda R. McKee, D-Wayne, yes

H. Sawin Millett Jr., R-Waterford, no

Janet Mills, D-Farmington, yes

S. Peter Mills, R-Cornville, absent

Lillian L. O’Brien, D-Lewiston, yes

John L. Patrick, D-Rumford, absent

Raymond Pineau, D-Jay, yes

Sonya Sampson, D-Auburn, yes

Thomas B. Saviello, D-Wilton, yes

Thomas F. Shields, R-Auburn, no

Deborah L. Simpson, D-Auburn, yes

Nancy E. Smith, D-Monmouth, yes

Lois Snowe-Mello, R-Poland, no

Richard M. Sykes, R-Harrison, no

Michael A. Vaughan, R-Durham, absent

William R. Walcott, D-Lewiston, yes

SENATE ENACTMENT VOTE: Yes, 18; No, 17; Absent 0.

How local senators voted:

Richard Bennett, R-Norway, no;

Kenneth Blais, R-Litchfield, no;

Bruce Bryant, D-Dixfield, yes;

Neria Douglass, D-Auburn, yes;

Margaret Rotundo, D-Lewiston, yes;

Chandler Woodcock, R-Farmington, no.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.