PORTLAND – Sharon Carey, a 911 telecommunicator with Somerset County Regional Communications Center, was named “2004 Telecommunicator of the Year” by the Maine Chapter of the National Emergency Number Association on April 7.

Carey was recognized for her handling of a 911 call in which a woman with two guns threatened to kill a police officer and another person. Carey was able to gain the trust of the suspect and get her to put down the weapons, talking the woman into a safe and peaceful surrender.

Silent Hero Certificates, recognizing exceptional daily contributions in the field of emergency communications, were presented to the following area 911 telecommunicators: Colleen Nason, Maine State Police; David Sanborn, Oxford County RCC; Tyler Trott, Lewiston/Auburn 911; Leisa Hall, Maine State Police; Susan Poulin, Maine State Police, Chad Labree, Maine State Police; and Mark Hanson, Sagadahoc County Communications.

The awards ceremony took place as part of the chapter’s seventh annual conference.

The chapter also installed the following officers: Rob Morris, Sagadahoc County Communications, president; Sandra Simonds, York County Communications, vice president; Michael Smith, Somerset County Communications, secretary/treasurer; and Sonia Moeller, Brunswick Police Department, Region I director. Linwood Lothrop, Knox Regional Communications, will continue as the Region II director.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.