LEWISTON – The Lewiston-Auburn Rotary Club has presented five $1,000 scholarships to high school students. Four local business leaders and Rotarians sit on the Rotary Club’s Endowment Fund: Chairman John Belisle of Mechanics Savings, and advisers Peter Kowalski of John F Murphy Homes, Raymond Martel of Harlan F. Spiller Co. and Alan Hahnel of Hahnel Brothers Co.

Belisle introduced scholarship recipient Michelle Hamann of St. Dominic Regional High School.

She is involved in community activities that include membership in the Key Club, altar server, Festival de Joie and Great Falls Balloon Festival volunteer as well as attending Mission in Mississippi.

She plans to attend Elmira College in Elmira, N.Y.

Kowalski introduced scholarship recipient Dwayne Burgess of Leavitt Area High School in Turner.

Burgess has volunteered in a performing arts program and donated art to local auctions.

He is a member of the National Honor Society, Spanish Club, Prom Committee, Creative Arts Program, Amnesty International and has participated in school musicals and plays. He will attend the Maine College of Art in Portland.

Martel introduced scholarship recipient John Daggett of Oak Hill High School in Wales. Daggett has volunteered for musical performances for Litchfield schools, the Boys and Girls Club and Daughters of Isabella.

He has held positions as class president, Prom Committee president and Senior Finance president.

He will attend Northeastern University in Boston.

Hahnel introduced scholarship recipient Katherine Lauze of Lewiston High School. Her community activities included being a member of the National Honor Society and chairwoman of the Lewiston Youth Advisory Council.

She will attend the University of Maine in Orono.

Belisle explained that the fifth recipient, Hannah Lynne Giasson of Edward Little High School, was unable to attend. He said Giasson has been a volunteer for the Greater Androscoggin Humane Society, treasurer of the National Honor Society, member of the Student Council, treasurer of the Student Executive Board and staff editor of the yearbook. She will attend Bates College in Lewiston.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.