WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sens. Olympia J. Snowe and Susan Collins, both R-Maine, have announced their nominees for the United States Military Service Academies.

To be considered for an appointment to a service academy applicants must be nominated by an authorized nominating source, which includes Members of Congress.

The following area students have received nominations as candidates to the service academies from Senator Snowe and Collins.

U.S. Military Academy at West Point: Kasmiera Hughes, Richmond, Richmond High; Nolan McKusick, Freeport, Freeport High; Kevin Park, Brownfield, Fryeburg Academy.

U. S. Air Force Academy: Nicholas Duquette of North Monmouth, Monmouth Academy.

U.S. Naval Academy: Charles Cramer of Naples, Lake Region High; Christopher Dirago of Topsham, Mt. Ararat High; Benjamin Magur of Raymond, Hargrave Military Academy, Phillip Morlock of Lisbon Falls, Lisbon High.

U. S. Merchant Marine Academy: Christopher Dirago of Topsham, Mt. Ararat High School; Benjamin Magur of Raymond, Hargrave Military Academy.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.