JAY – The Frank L. Mitchell Post 3335, VFW and John Newcomb scholarships were presented recently.

This year’s winners are Rene Ouellette, Rebecca Ouellette and Andrew Deering. Renee is a senior at the University of Maine at Augusta, and Rebecca is a junior at the University of Maine at Farmington. Deering is a freshman at Maine Maritime Academy in Castine.

The Scholarship Committee is composed of VFW Post and Auxiliary members. The $500 scholarships are awarded annually to full-time students who are sons, daughters, stepsons, stepdaughters or grandchildren of members of VFW Post 3335. The recipients are chosen in a random drawing from the names submitted.

The winners must attend an accredited school, and awards are given at the beginning of the second semester. Applications are available for next year’s scholarships at the post or by contacting Scholarship Chairman Fred Jackman at 897-4261.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.