LOVELL – A standing-room-only crowd voted at the annual town meeting Saturday to allow Stow and Chatham, N.H., to use the town’s transfer station. The move is in response to Gov. John Baldacci’s plea for towns to regionalize services, supplies and equipment.

The combined population of Stow and Chatham is approximately 600, and some residents questioned if adding this number of people would put an undue burden on the transfer station and trash compactor. Lovell’s population is approximately 1,000.

Outgoing selectmen Chairman Richard Eastman said the board had been looking at getting a new compactor anyway, and the station crew didn’t think the present compactor would be overtaxed. The two New Hampshire towns will pay a one-time fee of $10,000 and $15,000 annually for using the station.

Moderator Jon Bliss kept action on the 97-article warrant moving quickly in a warm room heated by two potbellied wood stoves.

Residents voted to ban the practice of powerboat drivers loading their watercrafts on trailers using the propellors. From now on, they must winch them on to prevent damage to the lake and landing area.

Penalties for power-loading boats will be no less than $25 and no more than $200.

The voters approved allowing privately owned recreational watercraft to land west of the town swimming dock at Farrington Beach on Kezar Lake. Some people were concerned about the noise and swimmer safety at the town beach.

The only article rejected was one to move some of the money from the town conservation account, which has slightly more than $60,000 due to a large block of land being removed from tree growth. The penalty for withdrawal of this land from tree growth was a windfall last year that the selectmen did not foresee. It was clear from the discussion that the town wanted that money to stay in the conservation account.

Voters passed an article that will have the first $5,000 from any future tree growth penalty and 50 percent of the remainder used to buy conservation easements or conservation land.

Elected to office were Edward Ryan to the Planning Board for five years, William McCormick as associate to the Planning Board for one year, John Donnelly for associate to the Planning Board for one year, Jon Bliss and Joseph Moody to the Budget Committee for seven years each, and Joel Hardman as SAD 72 director for one year.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.