AUGUSTA (AP) – Democrats and Republicans have selected their candidates for a special election to fill the vacancy left by the death of state Representative Abigail Holman, who died in a skiing accident April 7.

Democrats from the five municipalities that make up House District 83 on Sunday nominated Deane Jones, a selectman in Mount Vernon and 35-year resident of the town. Jones was defeated by Holman in last year’s general election.

On Saturday, Republicans nominated Penny Morrell of Belgrade, who was defeated by Holman in the party’s primary last spring.

District 83 covers Belgrade, Fayette, Manchester, Mount Vernon and Vienna. The new election will not affect the Democratic Party’s control of the House.

Morrell is administrative assistant and office manager for the anti-abortion group Maine Right to Life and has been active in local, county and state Republican politics, but has never held elective office.

During the Democrats’ caucus at the Manchester Grange on Sunday, Jones was chosen over two others who were nominated for the legislative seat. They include Stanley Moody of Manchester, who formerly held the House seat, and Harry Dwyer of Fayette.

A special election between Jones and Morrell will be held June 12.

AP-ES-04-30-07 0854EDT

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.