POLAND – Kristen Kannegieser of Minot, scored a hole-in-one Friday, Oct. 5 at Poland Spring Country Club. She aced the #6 hole, 115-yards, using a 9 iron. Her son, Will Kannegieser, witnessed the feat.


AUBURN – Friday, Oct. 5 Individual Gross and Net: Gross: Mark Furbush, Mike Williams, 74; Dale Brown, Andy Stonehouse, 76; Sanjay Mukerji, 79. Net: Wayne Hackett, 79-66; Mike Belanger, 83-69; Don Fagan, 81-69; Al Stasulis, 89-69; Melissa Johnson, 89-69. Pins: #4, Wayne Hackett, 5’8″; Sanjay Mukerji, 8’6″; #9, Jim Raby, 11’1″; Melissa Johnson, 26′; #11, Steve Bartlett, 1’8″; Dennis Lee, 19’4″; #17, Gary Goldberg, 13’10”; Scott Coulombe, 19’8″.

Alvarez wins tourney

POLAND – Ricky Jones is the Maine State Golf Association Player of the Year. He has won assorted titles this year, but couldn’t capture the Mid-Amateur Championship Sunday at Fairlawn Golf Course. Joe Alvarez repeated as champion, defeating Jones in a 2-hole playoff. Both players came in at even par on Sunday (142), forcing the playoff. Each player parred the first hole. Alvarez also scored a par on the second hole to secure the victory.

Finishing third was Ricardo Petillo of Westbrook, 143, followed by Joe Manganaro of Gorham, 144; and Keith Patterson of Biddeford-Saco, and Mike Lee of Portland, 146.

Oakdale CC

MEXICO – Men’s Night, Oct. 5: 1. Greg Dawson, Fred Kent, Kurt Pitts, Jack Rowland, 60; 2. George Virgin, Brad Gallant, Rodney Daoust, Mike Mickeriz, 61; Dave Weston, Chris Field, Chuck Welch, Walt Cunningham, 66. Low net, Kent, 30.

Men’s Night, Oct. 3, team points 3 of 4: 1. Mark Burton, Rodney Daoust, Jack Rowland, Jamie Corriveau, +14; 2. John Gallant, Joe Gorham, Gary Williamson, Don Johnson, +10. Most over quota, tie, Jamie Corriveau and Gary Williamson, +7.

Sept. 30 Sweeps: 1. Ray P & M Bedard, 31; 2. Rodney Daoust, 36.

Members Shootout, Sept. 30: A Flight, Don Johnson; B, Joe Balducci; C, Daoust.


POLAND – Fairlawn Ladies Rally For A Cure Tournament: Low net: B Flight, 1. Joan Conley; 2. Jeanne Levesque; C Flight, 1. Betty Johnson 2. Maxine Folsum; D Flight, 1. Phyllis Young; 2. Lina Verville. Low gross: A, Laura Young; B, Mickey Bolduc; C, Marge Cormier; D, Lu Dube. Rally For A Cure pink putter was won by Jeanne Hutchinson.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.