LEWISTON – Team USA won the 2009 Lahey Bowlfest at Spare-Time Recreation, a tournament benefiting the Lahey Foundation. It was established in memory of former local school administrator Thomas E. Lahey, who dies in 1987 at the age of 43. Since its inception, the foundation has awarded more than $150,000 in scholarships to graduates of Lewiston, Edward Little and St. Dominic Regional high schools.

After barely escaping the qualifying round, Team USA exploded in the single-string championship playoff. Jim Morin (253 scratch) and Ralph Therrien (243) led the way. Other members of the winning team were captain Gil Dionne, Mike Peaco and Dan Cailler.

The Bell’s Farm team of Sue Dostie, Jean Cote, Terri Moore, Chris Gray and captain Terri Bell finished second, led by Dostie’s 224.

The Boomers rallied to finish third, headlined by the efforts of Greg Gagnier, Diane Gagnier, Steve Mennealy, Nancy Mennealy and Debbie Rancourt.

A total of 170 bowlers competed in this year’s event.

Individual highlights:

High series, scratch – Men: Scott Allaire 690, Jeff Bolduc 672, Ron Giroux 662; Women: Pauline Bosse 576, Chris Gray 562, Shirley Gondek 496.

High game, scratch – Men: Ron Giroux 275, Rod Cameron 249, Scott Allaire 248; Women: Chris Gray 213, Kim Coombs 199, Pauline Bosse 195.

High series, handicap – Men: Don Gosselin 788, Dale Heald 779, Gil Dionne 779; Women: Chris Gray 781, Diane Lepage 772, Mariette Hebert 761.

High game, handicap – Men: Jared Giroux 305, Freddy Hall 294, Ron Sabourin 285; Women: Donna Brewster 300, Pandora Lawler 293, Diane Lepage 287.

High average – Men: Scott Allaire 230, Jeff Bolduc 224, Ron Giroux 221; Women: Pauline Bosse 192, Chris Gray 187, Shirley Gondek 165.

Team high series, scratch – Balls Brothers, 3,032. Team members were Bob Joyce, Marc Frechette, Scott Allaire, Jamie Bernier and Derek Webb.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.