Fifteen states had adopted Silver Alert programs as of April 30, and legislatures in several others were considering it.

A bill establishing a national, coordinated Silver Alert system also has been approved by the U.S. House of Representatives and awaits action in the U.S. Senate.

The states with Silver Alert programs are: Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Ohio, Rhode Island, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia.

In most, the alerts apply to people diagnosed with dementia, Alzheimer’s disease or other cognitive impairments. Some limit it to senior citizens; others include impaired adults ages 18 and older.

The federal bill, if approved, would also authorize up to $10 million in grants to help states create Silver Alert programs.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.