BETHEL – The 30th annual Faye Taylor Memorial Art Show was held on May 23 in the meeting room of the Dr. Moses Mason House. SAD 44 elementary school students were invited to participate in the annual contest to see who most closely created a work of art that reflect this year’s theme of old-time toys and games.

Prizes of $50 for first, $35 for second and $20 for third were awarded in three divisions: grades one and two; grades three and four; and grades five and six. Judges were Donald Bennett, Tim Kavanaugh, Dennis Dreher and Gemma Morrill-Dreher.
Division I: first, Hannah Evans, grade two, Crescent Park; second, Peyton Hart, grade two, Crescent Park; third, Brooke Richardson, grade two, Crescent Park.
Division II: Emily Foss, grade four, Crescent Park School; Luke Davis, grade four, Crescent Park School; Jan-nay Learned-Stewart, grade three, Crescent Park.
Division III: Tarin McLaughlin, grade five, Crescent Park; Andrew Siegel, grade five, Crescent Park; Ani Inman, grade five, Crescent Park.
All winners received, in addition to the cash prize, a ribbon and certificate. Hanging the entries were Arlene Lowell, Kathy Bennett and Ginger Kelly and anonymous donors helped make the cash prizes possible.
The art show honors the memory of Faye Sanborn Taylor (1908-1972), a local landscape painter, who was interested in encouraging the creative talents of young people. She was also a charter member of the Bethel Historical Society and served as its first treasurer.
The annual St. Never’s Day sale, which continued through the Memorial Day weekend, was a success. Volunteers included Annie Hastings, Grace McKivegan, Jackie Bell, Jean Owen, Pat McCartney, Edie Doyle, Jay Boschetti, Lucy Nordahl, June Abbott and Tineke Ouwinga.

Comments are no longer available on this story