AUBURN — St. Mary’s Health System held its annual adult volunteer recognition event recently in the Grand Ballroom of the Hilton Garden Inn Riverwatch. Volunteers were honored for their commitment of time to St. Mary’s Regional Medical Center; St. Mary’s d’Youville Pavilion, St. Mary’s Residences, St. Mary’s Nutrition Center, St. Mary’s Food Pantry and St.
Mary’s Lots-to-Gardens programs.

Sergey Miller, a St. Mary’s student volunteer from Edward Little High School, performed contemporary and classical arrangements for keyboard during the reception and dinner. Volunteers and guests were welcomed and introduced by Patrick Williams, director of safety and volunteer services.

A blessing was offered by St. Mary’s vice president of mission effectiveness, Elizabeth Keene. Other senior leaders present included James Cassidy, president and chief executive officer, St. Mary’s Health System; Lee Myles, chief executive officer, St. Mary’s Regional Medical Center; Susan Keiler, chief operating officer and vice president, physician practices; Kevin Healey, vice president, human resources, Carolyn Kasabian, chief financial officer; Rene Dumont, vice president, planning, marketing and information; Debra Fournier, administrator and vice president, elder services; Rosemary Henry, chief nurse executive and vice president, nursing acute care services; and Peter Watko, vice president medical affairs, quality and case management.

Williams and volunteer services coordinator Kathleen Kuritz presided over the recognition ceremony, including the traditional lighting of candles to honor those volunteers who died during the previous year. Volunteers Laurianne Cormier and Sheila Sylvester participated in the ceremony in memory of volunteers Marthe Grenier Rivard and Stella d’Amour.

Bates College senior year student volunteer Michelle Ladonne created and presented recognition posters and an audiovisual
documentary as a tribute to the six volunteers recognized as 2009 Honorees: Frank Steele of Rumford and Lewiston residents Emile Caron, Laurianne Cormier, Fern Dodge, Laurette Doyon and Anita Turgeon.

More than 350 volunteers are engaged throughout St. Mary’s Health System. Of that larger field, the following received gold recognition pins and hour guards for their individual cumulative volunteer hours achieved as of Dec. 31, 2008, and based on the following incremental categories:


17,000 hours: Laurianne Cormier, Lewiston; 13,000 hours: Anita Turgeon, Lewiston; 9,000 hours: Eveline Michaud, Lewiston; 8,000 hours: Emile Caron, Lewiston; 7,000 hours: Lorraine Samson, Lewiston; 6,000 hours: Frank Steele, Rumford; 5,000 hours: Irene Lanois and Cynthia Peters, Lewiston; 4,000 hours: Donna Palmer, Lewiston; 3,000 hours: Fernande Dodge and Denise Dubois, Lewiston.

2,000 hours: Roland Brochu, Auburn; Cathy Collins, Auburn; Gabrielle Demoras, Lewiston; Irene Gauthier, Lewiston; Vi Gerber, Sabattus; Michelle Ladonne, Chicago, Ill.; 1,000 hours: Muriel Adams, Auburn; Dorothy Dube, Lewiston; Elaine Dubois, Auburn; Lee Landry, Lewiston; Michael McCormick, Mechanic Falls; Tony Michaud, Auburn; Joyce St. Pierre, Auburn; Rella St. Pierre, Lewiston; Richard St. Pierre, Lewiston; Roger St. Pierre, Auburn; and Claudette Violet, Lewiston.

500 hours: Amanda Bailey, Lewiston; Tina Bayne, Lewiston; Frank Bednarcyzk, Lewiston; Suzanne Blanchette, Lewiston; Claire Breton, Lewiston; Louise Chabot, Lewiston; Claudette Champagne, Lewiston; Bob Desbiens, Sabattus; Thomas Doyle, Auburn; Stephanie Hlister-Croteau, Lewiston; Randy Hord, Lewiston; Deacon Lasagna, Lewiston; Marie Jeanne
Laurendeau, Lewiston; Andre Marichal, Lewiston; Joseph McGovern, Lewiston; Pauline Pare, Lewiston; Susan Sirois, Lewiston; Missy Willis, Lewiston.

300 hours: Sergey Miller, Auburn; 100 hours: Romulo Acosta, Lewiston; Francois Affo, Lewiston; Jessica Baxter, Norwell, Mass.; Kay Bernard, Auburn; Gerard Berube, Lewiston; Andie Bisceglia, Lewiston; Nitasha Bobb, Lewiston; George Bussiere, Lewiston; Alvira Caron, Lewiston; Marjorie Clifford, Lewiston; George Cole, Lewiston; Marthe Dubois, Lewiston; Patricia Dufault, East Poland; Cecile Fortini, Lewiston; Belinda Haskell, Minot; Molly Ladd, Lewiston; Ivan Lazure, Lewiston; Lucille Lazure, Lewiston; Beatrice Lenhert, Lewiston; Jean Masse, Lewiston; Lorraine Masse, Lewiston; Jacqueline Obie, Lewiston; Rahma Odowa, Lewiston; Camille Parrish, Auburn; Barbara Randall, Auburn; Terry Savage, Lewiston;
Judy Schneider, Lewiston; Joanna Spencer, Lewiston; Ashley Watson, Turner; Heidi Watson, Mexico.

The following Bates College student volunteers were recognized: Victor Babatunde, Jessica Baxter, Eve Boonseng, Matt Chance, Katherine Deschene, Deniz Dolcen, Tess Glancey, Elizabeth Glennon, Michelle Ladonne, Guang Liu, Joanna Mangar, Julie Miller-Hendry, Julia Murphy, Erica Ong, Daniel Roop, Lirong Tan, Christina Yeung.

The following missionary elder volunteers from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints were recognized: Utah residents: Elder Jordan Crosby; Elder Keean Jansen and Elder Jordan Pitt and Littleton. Colo., resident Elder Martin Milius.

St. Dominic Regional High School senior-year student volunteers included: 2009 United States presidential scholar Michael Girouard; C.J. Bergeron, Greg LaBonte, Richard Paradis.

Adults age 18 and over who are interested in volunteering should contact 777-8368 or visit The 2009
junior volunteer program for teens is full; applications for next summer’s program will be available from Jan. 1 to May 1, 2010.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.