AUGUSTA — Twelve Maine community college students were named to the All-Maine Academic Team for two-year colleges at a ceremony on March 23 at the Senator Inn. The event was hosted by the Maine Community College System Board of Trustees.

Two local students receiving the award and a $500 scholarship from Camden National Bank were:

Natalie Hollows, of Auburn, a student at Central Maine Community College. Hollows is majoring in liberal studies. She is the Phi Theta Kappa president, a TRIO Program student tutor, a writing tutor, Good Shepherd Food Bank volunteer, community band member and a Mothers Against Drunk Driving volunteer.

Rebecca Smith, of Lewiston, a student at Central Maine Community College. Smith is majoring in liberal studies.

She was the Phi Theta Kappa secretary in the spring of 2009. She is also a Women in Technology member, Mechanic Falls Church of the Nazarene volunteer, St. Vincent’s DePaul’s Thrift Store volunteer, peer mentor and a Faculty and Staff Appreciation Day volunteer.

The All-Maine Academic Team is part of the national Phi Theta Kappa program, an international honor society for two-year colleges. Students are nominated and selected for the team by their college based on outstanding academic achievement, leadership and service.