CANTON — In one of the shortest meetings in the history of the town, Canton citizens passed 26 articles in less than an hour.

Before the meeting, Selectman Donald Hutchins reminded the residents that at the last annual town meeting, they had voted to go to a six-month budget so they could get to a yearly budget that coincided with the school-budget year.

The next meeting will be in August and will be for the yearly budget.

Moderator Terry Hayes was impressed as the first 14 articles passed without comment. Then the residents chose to discuss the need for repairs on the Municipal Building.

Resident Polly Bussiere asked why the town was making repairs to the building.

Selectman Jackie Conant said repairs were needed to keep the building from falling down. Hutchins said the money was for general maintenance.

Resident Percy Butler said there was no real use of the building and they shouldn’t be putting money into repairs.

Brian Jordan said the snowmobile and ATV clubs use the building for meetings and pay for the use.

Butler said the town had a new building on Route 108 where the Town Office should be. Butler was referring to the new Fire Station.

Tom Adley said many organizations use the building and the question of what to do with it should be put on the August warrant. The building is in the flood zone.

Malcolm Ray voiced an amendment to the article to direct selectmen to develop a plan to dispose of any unused town property and to present the plan at the August meeting. The amendment passed.

Harold “Oakie” Jones proposed an amendment to use only the $5,000 carryover to keep the heat going in the building and other maintenance. That amendment also passed.

The articles passed totaled a six-month budget of $254,079.

In town elections Friday night, Scotty Kilbreth was re-elected selectman for a three-year term. Former Selectman Lisa Cummings unseated Donna Hebert for a three-year term.

Planning Board members Kathleen Hutchins, Tricia Blanchard and Jeffrey Cavanaugh were all re-elected.

Receiving the highest number of write-ins for the Recreation Committee were Faith Campbell, Carl Leuders and Jason Vaughan for a three-year term. Jane Leuders and Erin Wainwright had the most votes for the two-year terms. Selectmen will have to choose for a one-year term.

Selectmen will also have to appoint a Budget Committee member.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: