RUMFORD — The Rumford Lodge of Elks 862 has announced its 2012 National Foundation Scholarship winners.

Boys: first place, Adam Mahar, Telstar High School; second place, Erich Zurhorst, Mountain Valley High School; third place, Jason Haynes, Dirigo High School.

Girls: first place, Jessica Sattler, Dirigo High School; second place, Hannah Lapointe, Mountain Valley High School; third place, Miranda Shurtleff, Dirigo High School.

The applications of the above winners have been forwarded to the Maine Elks Association for further scholarship consideration.

Any Mountain Valley, Dirigo, Telstar and Gould Academy senior whose residence is in towns within these school districts, and who plan to further their education in a four-year program is eligible to apply for this scholarship.

Seniors who have a parent or grandparent who is a living Elk in good standing within the organization are eligible to apply for the Legacy Scholarship.

Details of these scholarships may be obtained from the school guidance offices, or from the Rumford Elks Lodge.

The scholarship committee consists of Lew Irish, Chair; Allan Gallant Jr. and Peggy Briggette.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.