OXFORD — Turner-based short track veteran Matt Dufault inherited the lead on lap 12 when Corey Morgan drifted high through turns 1 and 2 and held off a late-race charge from Mike Haynes to win Friday evening’s 50-lap Lions Club Trophy Dash for the Outlaw Sportsman division at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Justin Larsen (Mini Stock); BJ Chapman (Street Stock); and Vanna Brackett (Pro Late Model); also won features in their respective divisions on a damp yet rain-free night in western Maine.

Haynes made a valiant effort to close on Dufault as the laps wound down but settled for second, while fellow Turner racer Troy Jordan was rock-solid in third. Jason Webster stayed within sight of the leaders throughout and secured fourth at the finish, while Auburn’s Kyle Treadwell filled out the top five.

“I don’t know what happened to Corey. I don’t know if the car just got out from under him or something broke. I was looking forward to battling with him for the win. I was trying to save my car for the end; long runs are really fun for me because the car just keeps better and better. This has been quite a week.”

Dufault started his string of success with a feature win last Wednesday night in the Outlaw division.

Brackett backed up her strong performance the previous week by wheeling Shawn Knight’s car to her first career Pro Late Model victory. In one of the most thrilling finishes of 2013, Brackett charged relentlessly in the outside groove throughout the closing laps, finally getting the advantage on Gary Chiasson on the final circuit.


“I was just trying not to spin myself out or wreck Gary,” an elated Brackett said in Victory Lane. “I was trying to do everything that Shawn (Knight, also her crew chief) told me to do and seal the win. I have to thank Shawn for this opportunity; I’ve wanted to win one of these things all year and it feels fantastic.”

Chiasson settled for second after leading all but one of the first 36 laps, while two-time Oxford Late Model champion Shawn Martin made a strong return to weekly action in third. Point leader TJ Brackett helped his title efforts with a solid fourth place run, while Shane Green completed the top five.

In earlier feature action, Larsen notched his seventh win of 2013 thanks to a power move during the first lap. The talented rookie from Peru drove underneath Brady Romano and Shane Kaherl going down the backstretch and led as the field crossed the stripe.

Just as he is doing in the overall point standings, Calvin Rose Jr. chased Larsen throughout the feature but had to settle for second. Romano hung on for a distant third, while Kaherl and Brandon Palmer completed the top five. The race was completed under the checkered and caution flag after Palmer slapped the wall.

“This rookie season continues along in the best possible way,” Larsen said. “My father, my whole family, Rich Sirois of Warrior Race Cars and several others have supported my rookie effort in a big way. The car was on rails again tonight; I knew Calvin was close for a while but I was able to pull away. It feels fantastic.”

Chapman was impressive as he held off all challengers in a hotly-contested Street Stock tussle. The veteran from Naples fought off a hard-charging Zach Bowie after the event’s only restart before pulling away for top honors.

Two-time and defending champion Kurt Hewins drove from eighth to secure second, while Ryan Robbins claimed third. Bowie faded slightly in the closing laps to finish fourth, while point leader Matt Williams rounded out the top five.

“I don’t have any sponsors; we just bought this car a week ago,” Chapman said. “My father owns it, I appreciate the chance to drive it and it sure ran well this evening. I think we’ve got it dialed in pretty well already judging from the way it handles.”

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.