OXFORD — Tyson Jordan wheeled around the outside of Spencer Morse on lap seven and sped way to win the 50-lap Street Stock Trophy Dash Friday evening at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Shawn Martin (Pro Late Model); Corey Morgan (Outlaw Sportsman) and Calvin Rose Jr. (Mini Stock) were also feature winners on a gorgeous late-summer night for racing at the western Maine oval.

Jordan became the fourth different leader in the Street Stock battle, taking command after Zach Bowie, Dan Brown and Morse took turns up front. With no cautions to slow his pace, Jordan simply checked out on the field.

Corey Morgan worked his way into contention in the closing laps and finished second, while Morse faded to third. Oxford veterans Larry Emerson and Ryan Robbins completed the top five.

“We’ve got a brand new engine in this car tonight, and it ran perfectly,” Jordan said. “We had a little carburetor issue in practice, but that was pretty much it. Overall the car was dialed in just right.”

Filling out the top 10 was Dan Brown, Zach Emerson, BJ Chapman, Kurt Hewins and Matt Williams. Despite a little contact between some drivers, the main event clicked off with no delays at all.


Martin earned his second Pro Late Model win of 2013 with a blistering performance. The two-time Oxford Late Model champion powered around the outside of point leader TJ Brackett at the halfway mark and pulled away for top honors. Brackett had nothing for Martin in the closing laps and settled for second, while Scott Moore was third.

Adam Polvinen ran strong throughout the feature and came home fourth, while Donnie Wentworth rounded out the top five.

“This car was absolutely on fire tonight,” Martin said after his dominant effort. “I have to thank my crew. They had this thing about as perfect as I could ever hope for. I could go wherever I needed to be with no problem. I had a good time racing with TJ tonight; he’s a clean driver and has a strong car, as well.”

Finishing sixth through 10th in the Pro Late Model tussle was Kevin Douglas, recent winner Vanna Brackett, Tim Brackett, former TD Bank 250 winner Scott Robbins and Tommy Ricker. Three cautions slowed the pace, none for serious incidents. Martin’s margin of victory was roughly 10 car lengths.

In earlier feature action, Morgan notched his 11th victory of the season in a caution-free run for the Outlaw Sportsman. Morgan powered around the outside of Scott Hethcoat on lap three to take command and sped away to secure top honors. Steve Moon ran within sight of the leader the entire distance but settled for second, while veteran Mike Haynes finished third. Turner-based driver Matt Dufault and Troy Jordan completed the top five after starting ninth and seventh respectively.

“This night turned out way better than I expected after practice,” Morgan said. “The car was suffering some kind of fuel trouble and not running well at all. I have to thank Jason Ricker, his father Tommy and that whole crew. They took care of the problem for me. I sure appreciate their help to get it corrected.”

Rose was just nine points behind friend and rival Justin Larsen as the Mini Stock feature rolled out onto the speedway. The savvy veteran from Turner drove underneath early leader Shane Kaherl on the second lap, survived a challenge from Larsen after a restart on lap seven and pulled way to post his third victory of 2013.

Larsen gave chase throughout but settled for a distant second, while three-time Sport Truck class champion Ryan Farrar was third in his first-ever start in this division. Former champion Ashley Marshall was solid in his first start of 2013 in fourth, while Kaherl faded to fifth in the closing laps.

“That was a pretty fun race,” Rose said. “I know Justin is consistently fast week-in and week-out, so the goal is to get out front and not make a mistake. If we’re going to overtake him in this title fight, we’ll have to keep running like this. I hope we can make it a good battle right down to the wire.”

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: