TURNER — The Trustees of Leavitt Institute recently awarded scholarships totaling $95,800 to area students.

The Edgecomb-Knight and Young scholarships are open to Turner, Leeds and Greene graduating seniors who have attended Leavitt Area High School for all four years.

Rita D. Young established the Young Fund in 1999 in the name of her parents, Fred and Christia. This year, $9,000 awards were made to Madeline Wiegman and Sydney Nadeau; $5,000 awards to Morgan Shaw and David Hersom; and $2,000 to Brandon Clark. Those awards will be made upon completion of their college degrees.

The Edgecomb-Knight award was created by Rosalia Ott in 1993. Priority for the award is given to a student of foreign language. Justin Bean has received the $800 scholarship this year.

The Kilgore Scholarship, established in 1993, according to the wishes of Oakes M. Kilgore, is available to Leavitt seniors from the town of Turner. David Hersom is the 2013 recipient of the $5,000 scholarship.

In 1980, the Bonney Fund was established according to the wishes of Robert P. Reed.  This year, a total of $60,000 was awarded to 41 applicants to further the education of Turner residents.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.