Quarterback Ben Lucas, who engineered a 99-yard drive to secure Cony High School’s first football state championship in 81 years, was awarded the 43rd annual Fitzpatrick Trophy as Maine’s top senior football player Sunday in Portland.

Lucas passed for 307 yards and three touchdowns in the second half alone, leading Cony to a 30-23 victory over Kennebunk in the Class B championship.

He also broke the state record for career touchdown passes, set in 2001 by the late Lee St. Hilaire of Winthrop, also a Fitzpatrick winner.

“Cony High School has had football for over 130 years and we’ve never had a Fitzpatrick Trophy winner, so I’m extremely humbled and blessed,” Lucas said.

“It’s a team award. I got a lot of attention for breaking records this year, but the only number that mattered to me was 2013 and bringing a state championship to Cony.”

A three-year starter, Lucas and Cony had a 2-7 record his sophomore year before reaching the Eastern Class A final in 2012.

“We got a taste of what winning was like, but we weren’t content with that,” Lucas said.

Lucas was joined as a finalist by his state game rival, Nicco DeLorenzo of Kennebunk, and Justin Zukowski of Portland.

Nine other semifinalists were honored at Sunday’s banquet, including Levi Morin of Leavitt.

Comments are no longer available on this story

filed under: