AUGUSTA — Recipients of the 2013 Spirit of America Foundation Tribute for outstanding community service throughout Maine were recognized during an April 18 ceremony at the Statehouse.

The 2013 Spirit of America Foundation award recipients were:

Androscoggin County

Auburn: Ken Blais does a lot for the neighborhood and city besides the annual holiday displays at his diner.

Durham: Memorial Day Parade Committee, Boy Scout Troop 145 and Cub Scout Pack 145 organized the May parade, a race and put flags on veterans’ graves in 2012.

Greene: Alden Peterson is a former fire chief of his town who has done many things to aid Greene Rescue.


Leeds: Ted Barker has done so much for folks in his town during his 33 consecutive years as selectman.

Lewiston: Julia Sleeper is executive director and co-founder of Tree Street Youth, aiding inner-city children.

Lisbon: Lisbon Area Christian Outreach operates a food bank and provides clothing to aid those in need.

Livermore: Dennis Stires did much for Livermore-Livermore Falls Historical Society and county historical society.

Livermore Falls: Spirit of the Season Committee raises funds to buy clothes for needy kids and plans Christmas parade.

Mechanic Falls: American Legion Post 150 has done many fundraisers over the years to assist people in distress.


Minot: Noella Hemond has served on town boards, bicentennial committee, made/donated many mittens.

Poland: Tri-Town Food Bank & Thrift Shop is a long established organization that assists those in need.

Turner: Laurel Gagne is chief of Turner Rescue and has been volunteering continuously for 40 years; North Turner Presbyterian Church Pantry for 15-plus years has provided service to folks in need.

Wales: Wales Volunteer Fire Department saves lives and property and has done much for new fire station.

Franklin County

Chesterville: Neal Yeaton is active in state mail-carrier group, in the Agricultural Society and in ski patrolling.


Wilton: Michael Danforth has been a staunch supporter of the youth baseball and softball teams in Wilton; Robert Pullo has devoted lots of time over a period of many years to serving on the school board; Elizabeth Shibles started the campaign for beautification of the downtown area and the playground; Shannon Smith has organized Wilton’s annual Blueberry Festival for approximately 30 years.

Kennebec County

Fayette: Ted Johnston has been immensely helpful to the Fayette Volunteer Fire Department and his town.

Litchfield: Howard Campbell has helped Litchfield Farmers Club for 50-plus years and helps historical society; Rachel Fiske has raised money for the Fuel Fund by donating her time, giving rabies shots at cost; George Luckhurst has helped handicapped skiers and bikers for five years, also volunteers at Togus; Keith Marquis has put on a fireworks show for local people for more than 20 years at no charge; Lorene Pangburn has knit and donated hundreds of hats to people who are in financial need; Estella Partridge has made and donated many afghans to cancer patients and to veterans at Togus; Scott Weeks has long been responsible for the Antique Car Show fundraiser for Fireman’s Association.

Monmouth; Monmouth Rescue Association is a nonprofit group providing emergency medical services 24X7.

Mt. Vernon: Carol Fuller and Julie Weaver have given much needed assistance to the town’s transfer station.


Readfield: Sharon Chaplin has been nurse at Readfield Elementary, Secret Santa and organizes the giving tree; Larry and Nancy Perkins do a variety of things to help their church and also aided Katrina victims; Evelyn Potter has earned esteem as town historian, has assisted with assessing and at the school; Darcy Whittemore has served on Readfield’s solid and waste recycling committee for 20 years; Catherine Woodsum did much as a selectman for nine years and also was on the budget committee.

Rome: Dennis Phillips has served over 20 years on the town’s planning board, many years as chairman.

Vienna: Gordon Webber advocates for veterans, leads a young Marines’ group, and has helped fire department.

Wayne: Eloise Ault has been helpful to the Wayne Historical Society over a period of several years; Peter Ault served the town of Wayne for years as a selectman, and he also has been its treasurer.

Winthrop: Marc Hachey has been president of the high school student council and involved in many projects.

Sagadahoc County


Bowdoin: Bowdoin Fire and Rescue has been faithfully responding to all kinds of emergencies over the years.

Bowdoinham: George Christopher chairs town advisory committee on aging, has chaired finance committee.

Somerset County

Starks: Linda LaRose has organized Christmas concerts, has done much for the library and to help children.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.