First-time winners are all the rage this season in the Budweiser Pro Late Model division at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Scott Farrington of Minot made the triumphant turn into victory lane Friday night. He is the sixth different winner in as many 2014 races and the fifth consecutive driver to claim the checkered flag for the first time in the top class, joining Trevor Sanborn, Quinny Welch, Billy Childs Jr. and Justin Drake.

A graduate of Oxford’s mid-week Acceleration Series who moved into the faster, more sleek Pro Late Model cars a year ago, Farrington used three late-race caution flags to stay within striking distance of early dominator Jeff Burgess.

Farrington made the winning pass with three circuits remaining in the 50-lap main event. He also needed to hold off a spirited challenge from teammate and past track champion Shawn Martin.

Burgess was second for his best-ever OPS finish, followed by Martin, Childs and T.J. Brackett.

Ryan Hewins ruled the Allen’s Coffee Brandy Street Stock feature, leading all but the first three laps to collect his second victory.


Spencer Morse attempted to close the gap but settled for second. Zach Emerson, Josh Childs and Curtis Rolando completed the top five.

Likewise, it was Troy Jordan scoring the early lead and cruising to his second win of the season in Ripley & Fletcher Outlaw Sportsman. Michael Haynes fell one spot shy of back-to-back wins, with Josh Toothaker, Bryce Mains and Steve Moon in tow.

Matt Bourgoine continued his dominance of the NELCAR Legends with an early back-to-front charge en route to what is already his eighth victory of 2014. Reid Lanpher was runner-up, followed by Matt Grant, Wyatt Alexander and Bob Weymouth.

Jamie Heath won for the second time in three outings in the new Bandito division. Dan Wade, Cam Childs, Derek Cairns and Travis Verrill were next in line.

OPS celebrates the Independence Day weekend with four races in five nights, beginning Wednesday. The program with the popular annual fireworks display is set for Thursday, July 3.

Bubar goes the distance


Corey Bubar’s promising season appeared to be in jeopardy when his car was destroyed in a violent crash at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway only two weeks ago.

Bubar not only came back, but he won the biggest race of the season for the NASCAR Pro Series, dominating Saturday’s 125-lap main event.

After winning the pole position by virtue of a heat race victory, Bubar fell in behind Bryan Kruczek early before reclaiming the lead just past the halfway point and setting sail to his second win in six starts.

Dan McKeage settled for second, while David Oliver won a tense battle with Mike Landry for third. Richie Dearborn wound up fifth.

David Vaughn of Naples was equally impressive in winning a special 50-lap event for the Wildcat division. Mac Hannan Jr. was second, while Brian Picard edged Justin Karkos of Livermore Falls for third.

Brandon Barker picked up his first career Sport Series feature win, leading Dave Langlais and Phil Pinkham across the stripe.


Fortin first at Wiscasset

George Fortin of Greene scored the win in Saturday’s spotlight race at Wiscasset Speedway, a 35-lapper for the Outlaw Mini division.

Fortin led every lap to become the sixth different winner in six races for the highly competitive four-cylinder class.

Jimmy Childs of Leeds and Ryan Glover of Mexico were second and third in the 13-car field. Nate Tribbett topped Turner’s Butch Keene in the battle for fourth.

Bill Pinkham and Nick Hinkley kept it local in the Pro Stock feature. The Wiscasset drivers went one-two in the 30-lap affair ahead of Oxford’s Bill Penfold.

Dan Nessmith (Super Street), Kamren Knowles (New England 4-Cylinder Pro Stock) and Chad Binette (Modified) also celebrated victories. Craig Dunn of Strong was runner-up to Knowles.


Labbe rules Montmagny

Pro All Stars Series North traveled to Autodrome Montmagny in Quebec on Saturday night. The win stayed in Canada.

Alex Labbe of St. Albert, Quebec, won the 150-lap event, PASS North’s first race at the facility in 10 years.

Cassius Clark of Farmington finished second, followed by Johnny Clark of Farmingdale, Glen Luce of Turner and Travis Benjamin of Morrill.

The father-son tandem of Ben and Mike Rowe of Turner finished seventh and 13th, respectively, in the 17-car field. Nine drivers finished on the lead lap.

This week’s schedule


Oxford Plains Speedway

Wednesday: Acceleration Series, 7 p.m.

Thursday: Ripley & Fletcher Fireworks Celebration, 7 p.m.

Friday: Applebee’s Night with PASS Late Model 100, 7 p.m.

Sunday: Motor Mayhem, 6 p.m.

Beech Ridge Motor Speedway


Tuesday: Miller Lite All-American Celebration, 7 p.m.

Thursday: Thursday Thunder, 7 p.m.

Saturday: PASS North 150, 7 p.m.

Wiscasset Raceway

Saturday: Weekly Racing, 6 p.m.

Pro All Stars Series

Saturday: Beech Ridge, 7 p.m.

Comments are no longer available on this story