Softball tourney

The Maine COED State Tournament will be held July 26-27 in Lewiston and Auburn.

The tourney will feature a 21-team bracket, and will include the teams: Platz Nation, Balls n dolls, Uncle Daddy’s BBQ, SPC/Buddy Ts, Napa/Bill Dodge, D.R. Disc Golf, Charlies Auto, Williams Roofing, Textures, Elliots Office Supply, Vipers, Team Pink, Molloch, Anger Management, They All Quack, Intricity, Sons of Pitches, B&T Pallet, Navigator Nation and Lee Auto Care.

The games will be played at Pettengill Field in Auburn and at Randall Road Complex in Lewiston.

For more information, contact Joe Poirier at [email protected]

Basketball tourney

The 4th Annual Boothbay Lobster Jam, a girls’ varsity summer basketball tournament, whill be held on July 25 and 26. The tourney has evolved into a 16-team event and is a highlight of the high school summer basketball circuit.

Contenders include Oxford Hills, Thornton Academy, and Spruce Mountain. The tourney also features some potential Miss Basketball candidates like Jess Willerson of Cheverus and Bre Skolfield of Foxcroft Academy.

Hebron hockey

Hebron Academy is launching a hockey team for middle school students entering grades 6 through 8 to join the Southern Maine Middle School Hockey League (SMMSHL). The team is open to male and female students attending Hebron Academy and for students in the local community who live in towns which are not already supported by a SMMSHL team.

Please contact Jenny Ridley at Hebron Academy by calling (207) 966-5233 or by emailing [email protected] for additional information and registration information.

Field hockey tourney

The Maine Field Hockey Association annual Field Hockey Festival will be held July 26 at Thomas College in Waterville.

Thirtyfive teams will gather from around the state to play in this 7-vs.-7 round robin format. Games begin at 8:30 a.m. and continue until 4 p.m. At noon, play will break so the best of the best senior AllStars can battle it out in our annual McNally AllStar East vs. West game.

Teams from around the state include: Lake Region, Winsloe, Westbrook, Camden Hills, Lisbon, Belfast, Foxcroft, Gorham, Greely, Leavitt, Oceanside, Waterville, Skowhegan, Maranacook, John Bapst, Poland, Nokomis, Old Town, Winthrop, Scarborough, Cony, Lawrence, Mt. Ararat, Messalonskee, York, Mount View, Spruce, Thornton, Brewer, Orono, Dexter and Hampden.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: