AUGUSTA — Nate Libby, a Lewiston Democrat, was officially declared the winner in the race for state Senate District 21 on Monday, according to Maine Secretary of State Matt Dunlap.

Libby, who currently serves in the Maine House of Representatives and on the Lewiston City Council, was running against Republican Patti Gagne, a local insurance agent and former chamber of commerce president.

Gagne requested the recount after unofficial results from Election Day indicated that she lost the election by 71 votes. The unofficial tally was 6,576 for Gagne and 6,647 for Libby.

At the conclusion of the recount, which was conducted Monday in Augusta under the supervision of the secretary of state, it was determined that Libby received 6,646 votes, while Gagne received 6,563, an 83-vote margin for Libby.

Libby said both candidates congratulated one another for running a positive campaign again Monday. He said both he and Gagne expressed disappointment over negative campaign advertising that was paid for by PACs operated by their respective parties and beyond the control of the candidates.

“We are disappointed that the two parties got involved with our local election,” Libby said. “I would much rather we wouldn’t have had any of that outside spending going on in our race.”


Libby said the close vote reflected “two strong candidates.” He said the near even split of the electorate only reinforced his commitment to represent all Lewiston residents. 

“I’m going to continue to do what I do best, which is representing the interests of Lewiston people up in the Legislature,” Libby said. “I’m looking forward to getting back to work in Augusta.”

The recount was the second of three in the state Senate this fall. Earlier, the secretary of state determined that state Sen. Mike Thibodeau, R-Winterport, prevailed against Democratic challenger Jonathan Fulford with a 135-vote margin.

A final state Senate race recount for Falmouth’s District 25 between Democrat Catherine Breen and Republican Cathleen Manchester is set for Tuesday. Unofficial results show Breen winning the race by 32 votes.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.