Those wishing to run for municipal office in Orono have until this Friday to return their nomination papers.

There are three three-year terms available on the town council and two 3-year term available on the Orono RSU 26 Board of Directors. As of the beginning of the week Tom Perry, Judy Sullivan, Dan Lapointe, Michael Costello, Lisa Buck and Sam Kunz have taken out papers for the council, with Perry having returned his.

For the school board, Fran Neubauer, Mark Brewer and Brian McGill have taken out papers, with Neubauer and McGill having returned their papers.

The deadline for filing papers is on or before 4:30 p.m. this Friday, January 23. At least 25, but no more than 100 signatures of Orono voters are required to have a name placed on the ballot.

Orono’s municipal elections will be held on March 10.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.