DIXFIELD — Regional School Unit 10 Superintendent Craig King distributed handouts at Monday night’s board meeting describing procedures for towns considering withdrawing from the 12-town district.

At issue are the former School Administrative District 21 towns of Dixfield, Canton, Carthage and Peru. All but Carthage have agreed to place articles on their town meeting warrants asking to form a withdrawal committee and for funds to begin the process. For Dixfield, that would be $50,000, for Peru and Canton, $10,000 each, and for Carthage, $8,000.

Withdrawal committees must devise a method for educating students.

Byron, a member of the former SAD 43, is well into the process of withdrawing from RSU 10.

The possible withdrawal of former SAD 21 towns comes at a time when the RSU 10 board is about to announce its findings from three public meetings on future use of its buildings. King said that information is expected to be announced next week.

In another matter at Monday’s board meeting, King’s contract was extended through the 2016-17 fiscal year. His salary has yet to be set.

RSU 10 is comprised of Rumford, Mexico, Hanover, Roxbury, Canton, Dixfield, Carthage, Byron, Peru, Buckfield, Hartford and Sumner.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: