DIXFIELD — The Regional School Unit 10 board met in closed sessions Monday night to hear a grievance from an unidentified administrator, and to receive counsel from the district’s lawyer, Elek Miller, of Drummond Woodsum.

Superintendent Craig King said the board voted unanimously to deny the grievance, following the more than hourlong closed sessions. The next step by the administrator would be to go to arbitration if he or she chooses, King said.

In other matters, the board learned that longtime teacher of the gifted and talented Linda Andrews at Buckfield Junior-Senior High School was presented with the 2015 Patricia Behring Teacher of the Year Award.

Andrews has been very active with encouraging her students to become involved in numerous activities, including successful participation in many state and national history events.

Several staff positions were filled, including one by former school board member Shawn White of Hartford. He will begin work as a special education teacher at the Pennacook Learning Center for the upcoming school year. He has served in a similar position in Lewiston.

Other appointments were:


* Kayla Capponi as social worker at Pennacook Learning Center;

* Jenny Hudner as special education teacher at Pennacook Learning Center;

* Emma Shapiro as music teacher at Dirigo Elementary School;

* Michelle Boucher-Ladd as half-time librarian at Dirigo Middle School;

* Margarite Corlette as Meroby Elementary School kindergarten teacher;

* Brian Cogley as half-time physical education teacher at Meroby Elementary School;


* Jennifer Padgett as Meroby Elementary School Title I/Reading Recovery teacher;

* Heather O’Leary as half-time art teacher at Rumford Elementary School; and

* Dave Radcliff as Mountain Valley Middle School athletic director.

King said there are openings for a special education teacher for Dirigo High School; a math teacher at Mountain Valley High School; a guidance counselor for Meroby Elementary School; and a bus driver.

Other new personnel are: Kevin Prevost, Deanna Bennett as special education educational technicians at Pennacook Learning Center; Janet Ramey as special education technician at Buckfield Junior-Senior High School; Heidi Bernier as special education education technician at Dirigo High School; and Lisa Barrieau as secretary at Pennacook Learning Center and Rumford Elementary School.

Resignations include Gretchen Fall, a Mountain Valley High School social worker; Melissa Audy, a Dirigo High School English teacher; and Lynn Boothby, an educational technician at Meroby Elementary School.

The next board meeting is Aug. 10 at Dirigo High School.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: