Four tri-county football players will receive recognition at the Fitzpatrick Trophy banquet next month, but they will not sit at the head table as finalists.

Will Bessey of Brunswick, Joe Esposito of Portland and Austin McCrum of Thornton were announced Saturday as finalists for the Portland-based award, presented each year to an outstanding high school senior football player.

Dalton Therrien of Oak Hill, Levi Craig of Leavitt, Riley Robinson of Dirigo and Nate Pratt-Holt of Mt. Blue were among the 12 semifinalists announced earlier this month.

Media and coaches voted that list down to the final three.

Each of the finalists was on a team that reached the Class A or B state championship game. McCrum quarterbacked Thornton to a win over Esposito’s Portland Bulldogs in the ‘A’ final. Bessey played only briefly due to a hamstring injury as Brunswick fell to Marshwood in the ‘B’ showcase for the second consecutive year.

Bessey accounted for more than 1,700 all-purpose yards and 21 touchdowns. Esposito rushed for 1,634 yards and 27 touchdowns and made 103 tackles. McCrum passes for 1,706 yards and 19 TDs.

Comments are no longer available on this story

filed under: