FARMINGTON – A longtime Franklin County commissioner from Jay is being challenged in the November election by a former Wilton selectperson.

Commissioner Gary McGrane, a Democrat, has represented District 1 for 27 years. The district encompasses Carthage, Jay, Temple, Wilton and Washington and Perkins townships.

McGrane is being challenged by Terry Brann, a Republican, of Wilton. Brann formerly served as a selectperson in that town and on the Franklin County Budget Advisory Committee.

The term of office is four years.

Uncontested for a second Franklin County commissioner’s four-year term to represent District 2 is Commissioner Charles Webster, a Republican, of Farmington. District 2 covers the towns of Chesterville, Farmington and New Sharon.

Gov. Paul LePage appointed Webster in August 2015 to fill the remaining term of the late Commissioner Fred Hardy, a Republican, of New Sharon. Hardy died in July after serving about 22 years.

Also running uncontested are Sheriff Scott Nichols Sr., a Republican, of New Sharon, who is seeking a second four-year term.

Register of Probate Joyce Morton, also a Republican and from Farmington, is unchallenged for another four-year term. She has served nearly 33 years in the position.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.